eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

Independence of the Church of Greece

Georg Ludwig von Maurer, the Regent of the newly founded Greek Kingdom, with the co-operation of Theoclitos Pharmakides, an intellectual and leading figure of the Church, declared the (...)

Georg Ludwig von Maurer, the Regent of the newly founded Greek Kingdom, with the co-operation of Theoclitos Pharmakides, an intellectual and leading figure of the Church, declared the independence of the Church of Greece from the Patriarchate of Constantinople (1833), contrary to the Orthodox canonical tradition. The background for the creation of the Greek Church was the modernist ideology of nationalism: the idea that each nation-state should have its own national Church, out of the administrative control of any other institution that might be influenced by a foreign power. From a realist political perspective, this decision was considered unavoidable in order to prevent the perceived ottoman ‘enemy’ from interfering in the domestic affairs of the country through the Ecumenical Patriarchate. Taking into account the strong symbolic capital of religion in the collective conscience as well as its special role in the political operation, the government could not take the risk of not fully controlling the ecclesiastical affairs of the state. The newly formed ecclesiastical institution was considered schismatic, because it had been created without the necessary canonical approval of the legitimate ecclesiastical authority, the Ecumenical Patriarch, under whose jurisdiction it had always functioned; thus, communion between them was terminated. The relations between the two institutions were restored in 1850.

November 2013

D 18 September 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

Status of the Church of Greece

The Church of Greece was established by the State with the status of a legal entity under public law. From then onwards, the relations between state and Church have been generally governed by the (...)

The Church of Greece was established by the State with the status of a legal entity under public law. From then onwards, the relations between state and Church have been generally governed by the so-called system of ‘state-law rule’, according to which the Church has the status of a state agency. The Ordinance of 1833 stipulated that the King was the administrative head of the Church. In particular, King Otto was the supreme leader of the Church, having the power to appoint all the members of its synod. Furthermore, all Synodal decisions had to be approved by him, or else they would be considered null and void. The subordination of the Church to the state resulted in the ‘institutional’ identification between the two spheres. On the other hand, this interplay has given to the Church the opportunity to reproduce its social power and escape –at least partially– from the effects of the secularization process.
The main characteristics, the ‘ideal type’, of the ‘state-law rule’ system, various forms of which have been in effect to this day in Greece, are in principle the following: a) the state has the upper hand as concerns the religious affairs. The two spheres are not on an equal footing, the Church being subordinated to the political power; b) Orthodoxy is recognized in Greece as the ‘prevailing’ religion of the state, i.e. the official religion; c) the Church is a legal person under public law; d) the Orthodox Church enjoys a privileged legal and financial position compared to the other cults; and e) the state guarantees, however, the right of religious freedom to all its citizens.

As provided by the Constitution of 1975, the Church is under the authority of the Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs, while the Greek Parliament is the competent body to legislate on the various religious affairs (art. 72, par. 1). According to art. 3, the Orthodox faith is the ‘prevailing’ religion of the state. Art. 13 protects the rights to freedom of religious conscience as well as that of religious expression. Conversion through violent means is prohibited.

D 20 September 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

Organisation of the Church of Greece

The Greek territory is divided in 5 distinct ecclesiastical jurisdictions: a) the Autocephalous Church of Greece (the Metropolitanates in Central Greece, the Peloponnesus, the Cyclades islands, (...)

The Greek territory is divided in 5 distinct ecclesiastical jurisdictions: a) the Autocephalous Church of Greece (the Metropolitanates in Central Greece, the Peloponnesus, the Cyclades islands, the Ionian islands and Thessaly); b) the so-called Church of the ‘New Lands’ (the Metropolitanates in Macedonia, Epirus and Thrace), which are under the administrative jurisdiction of the Church of Greece, but spiritually depend from the authority of the Ecumenical Patriarch; c) the Church of the Dodecanese islands, which is entirely under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch; d) the semi-autonomous Church of Crete; and e) the self-governed monastic community of Mount Athos.

November 2013

D 21 September 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

Important events marking State-Church relations after 1974

1) 1982: Legal recognition of civil marriage as equally valid to religious marriage. 2) 1987: The draft legislation concerning the partial expropriation of the monastic real estate property as (...)

1) 1982: Legal recognition of civil marriage as equally valid to religious marriage.
2) 1987: The draft legislation concerning the partial expropriation of the monastic real estate property as well as the proposed innovations concerning the internal administration and the judicial system of the Church triggered a major crisis between the two powers. The outcome was actually at the detriment of the government, which had to withdraw the relevant draft bills and not put into effect its project, under the threat of the political cost.
3) 1992: The European Court of Human Rights condemned Greece for violating the right of religious freedom in a case of imprisonment of three Jehovah’s Witnesses.
4) 1998: The election of Christodoulos as Archbishop of Greece signified a ’fundamentalist’ turning point in the contemporary history of the Greek Church. Pivotal elements of the religious discourse: nationalism, populism, rigorism.
5) 2000-2001: the so-called ‘identity cards’ crisis. The socialist government eliminated the mention of religious affiliation which until then appeared on Greek identity cards, but this was not without a strong reaction from the Church and a significant portion of the Greek population. The tension began in 1997, when a law according to which religious affiliation would no longer appear on national identity cards was introduced. Archbishop Christodoulos organised a protest campaign calling for a referendum to gather signatures demanding the optional mention of religion on identity cards, in the hopes of forcing the government into changing the law. The Greek president confirmed that, according to the law and constitution of Greece, carrying out a referendum or changing the legislation that eliminated religious mention on identity cards was out of the question.
6) 2005: various scandals affected in a negative way the public image of Archbishop Christodoulos.
7) 2008: election of Archbishop Hieronymus. Transition of the religious discourse towards a more conciliatory direction. Acceptance of minor legal reforms concerning religious education, marriage, or Church finances and taxation, without however substantially altering the institutional status of the Church, which is called the "controlled compromise" thesis.

D 22 September 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

L’indépendance de l’Église de Grèce

L’indépendance de l’Église de Grèce à l’égard du Patriarcat de Constantinople est déclarée en 1833 par Georg Ludwig von Maurer, le régent du royaume grec nouvellement fondé, et ce contrairement à la (...)

L’indépendance de l’Église de Grèce à l’égard du Patriarcat de Constantinople est déclarée en 1833 par Georg Ludwig von Maurer, le régent du royaume grec nouvellement fondé, et ce contrairement à la tradition canonique orthodoxe. Theoclitos Pharmakides, intellectuel et figure majeure de l’Église, lui apporte sa coopération. L’idéologie moderniste du nationalisme constitue le contexte de la création de l’Église grecque : chaque état-nation doit avoir sa propre Église nationale et indépendante vis-à-vis du contrôle administratif de toute autre institution pouvant être sous l’influence d’un pouvoir étranger. D’un point de vue politique réaliste, cette décision est considérée comme inévitable afin d’empêcher celui perçu comme l’ « ennemi » ottoman de s’ingérer dans les affaires intérieures du pays par le biais du Patriarcat œcuménique. Tenant compte, aussi bien du fort capital symbolique de la religion dans la conscience collective que de son rôle spécifique dans le fonctionnement politique, le gouvernement ne peut risquer de ne pas avoir un contrôle total des affaires ecclésiastiques du pays . La nouvelle institution ecclésiastique est considérée comme schismatique car créée sans l’indispensable approbation canonique du Patriarche œcuménique, l’autorité ecclésiastique légitime, sous la juridiction de laquelle elle a toujours fonctionné. Leur communion prend ainsi fin. Les relations entre les deux institutions sont rétablies en 1850.

Novembre 2013
18 septembre 2013

Le statut de l’Église de Grèce

L’Église de Grèce est établie par l’État avec le statut de personne morale de droit public. A partir de là, les relations entre l’État et l’Église sont généralement régies par le système dit de « régime de (...)

L’Église de Grèce est établie par l’État avec le statut de personne morale de droit public. A partir de là, les relations entre l’État et l’Église sont généralement régies par le système dit de « régime de lois d’état » selon lequel l’Église possède le statut d’un organisme d’état. L’ordonnance de 1833 stipule que le roi est le chef administratif de l’Église. Le roi Othon est notamment le chef suprême de l’Eglise et dispose du pouvoir de nommer l’intégralité des membres de son synode. En outre, toutes les décisions synodales doivent être approuvées par lui sans quoi elles sont considérées comme nulles et non avenues. La subordination de l’Église à l’État aboutit à l’identification « institutionnelle » des deux sphères. D’un autre côté, cette interaction donne à l’Église l’opportunité de reproduire son pouvoir social et d’échapper, au moins partiellement, aux effets du processus de sécularisation.
Les caractéristique principales, le « type idéal » du système de « régime de lois d’état », dont différentes formes sont en vigueur en Grèce encore aujourd’hui, sont en principe les suivantes : a) l’État est le décisionnaire final s’agissant des affaires religieuses. L’Église étant subordonnée au pouvoir politique, les deux sphères ne sont pas sur un pied d’égalité ; b) l’Orthodoxie est reconnue en Grèce comme la religion « dominante » de l’État, c’est à dire la religion officielle ; c) l’Église est une personne morale de droit public ; d) l’Église orthodoxe bénéficie d’une position juridique et financière privilégiée par rapport aux autres cultes ; et e) cependant, l’État garantit le droit à la liberté de religion à l’ensemble de ses citoyens.
Comme le prévoit la Constitution de 1975, l’Église est sous l’autorité du secrétaire de l’éducation et des cultes (Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs) , alors que le parlement grec est l’instance compétente pour légiférer sur les différentes affaires religieuses (art. 72, par. 1). Selon l’art. 3, l’Orthodoxie est la religion « dominante » de l’État. L’art. 13 protège les droits à la liberté de la conscience religieuse ainsi que les droits à l’expression religieuse. La conversion par des moyens violents est prohibée.

20 septembre 2013

L’organisation de l’Église de Grèce

Le territoire grec est divisé en 5 juridictions ecclésiastiques distinctes : a) l’Église autocéphale de Grèce (les métropoles de Grèce centrale, le Péloponnèse, les îles Cyclades, les îles Ioniennes et (...)

Le territoire grec est divisé en 5 juridictions ecclésiastiques distinctes : a) l’Église autocéphale de Grèce (les métropoles de Grèce centrale, le Péloponnèse, les îles Cyclades, les îles Ioniennes et Thessalie) ; l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » (les métropoles en Macédoine, l’Epire et la Thrace) qui est sous la juridiction de l’Église de Grèce mais dépend de l’autorité du Patriarche œcuménique d’un point de vue spirituel ; c) l’Église des îles du Dodécanèse qui est entièrement sous la juridiction due Patriarche œcuménique ; d) l’Église semi-autonome de Crète ; et e) la communauté monastique autonome du mont Athos.

Novembre 2013
21 septembre 2013

Événements majeurs des relations Église-État après 1974

1) 1982 : Reconnaissance juridique du mariage civil comme ayant la même validité que le mariage religieux. 2) 1987 : Le projet de loi relatif à l’expropriation partielle des biens immobiliers (...)

1) 1982 : Reconnaissance juridique du mariage civil comme ayant la même validité que le mariage religieux.
2) 1987 : Le projet de loi relatif à l’expropriation partielle des biens immobiliers monastiques ainsi que les innovations proposées concernant l’administration interne et le système judiciaire de l’Église déclenchent une crise majeure entre les deux pouvoirs. Cette crise se termine aux dépens du gouvernement qui doit retirer les projets de lois concernés et ne peut les mettre en œuvre sous la menace du coût politique.
3) 1992 : La Cour européenne des droits de l’homme condamne la Grèce pour violation du droit à la liberté religieuse dans un cas d’emprisonnement de trois témoins de Jéhovah.
4) 1998 : L’élection de Christodoulos en tant archevêque de l’Église de Grèce constitue un tournant « fondamentaliste » dans l’histoire contemporaine de l’Église grecque. Éléments essentiels du discours religieux : nationalisme, populisme, rigorisme.
5) 2000-2001 : la crise dite des « cartes d’identité ». Le gouvernement socialiste supprime la mention de l’appartenance religieuse indiquée jusque là sur les cartes d’identité grecques, mais non sans une vive réaction de la part de l’Église et d’une fraction significative de la population grecque. Les tensions commencent en 1997, lorsqu’une loi selon laquelle l’appartenance religieuse ne sera désormais plus mentionnée sur les cartes d’identité est introduite. Dans l’espoir de contraindre le gouvernement à changer la loi, l’archevêque Christodoulos organise une campagne de revendication en faveur de la tenue d’un référendum afin de rassembler des signatures exigeant la mention optionnelle de la religion sur les cartes d’identité. Le Président grec confirme que l’organisation d’un référendum ou la modification de la législation supprimant la mention de la religion sur les cartes d’identité sont totalement exclues conformément à la législation et à la Constitution grecque.
6) 2005 : différents scandales nuisent à l’image publique de l’archevêque Christodoulos.
7) 2008 : élection de l’archevêque Hieronymus. Transition du discours religieux vers une approche plus conciliante. Approbation des réformes juridiques mineures relatives à l’éducation religieuse, le mariage ou les finances et la fiscalité de l’Église sans toutefois modifier substantiellement le statut institutionnel de l’Église, ce qui est dit la thèse du "compromis arrangé".

Novembre 2013
22 septembre 2013