eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Structure and Administration of the Orthodox Church in Greece

The Greek territory is divided in 5 distinct ecclesiastical jurisdictions: a) the Autocephalous Church of Greece; b) the so-called Church of the New Lands; c) the Church of Dodecanese islands; d) (...)

The Greek territory is divided in 5 distinct ecclesiastical jurisdictions: a) the Autocephalous Church of Greece; b) the so-called Church of the New Lands; c) the Church of Dodecanese islands; d) the Church of Crete; and e) the monastic community of Mount Athos [Agion Oros // the Holy Mountain].

a) The Autocephalous Church of Greece comprises of the various ecclesiastical provinces located in Central Greece, Peloponnesus, Cyclades Islands, Ionian Islands and the major part of Thessaly.
The Autocephalous Church of Greece was established in 1833 as the competent religious authority within the newly formed state of Greece. However, the Ecumenical Patriarch, under whose juridiction were the respective ecclesiastical provinces, did not recognize this legislative ordinance, considering it to be an anti-canonical act and an ecclesiastical coup d’etat. As such, therefore, the new religious organization acquired the status of a schismatic church. The deadlock came to an end in 1850, when the Patriarchate of Constantinople published the Synodal Tome, according to which the Church of Greece was given the status of ‘Autocephalia’ ex nunc. After the incorporation of the regions of Ionian Islands and Thessaly in Greece, the Ecumenical Patriarchate agreed to cede also the canonical jurisdiction over the said districts to the Greek Church, via the Patriarchal Acts of 1866 and 1882 respectively.

b) The so-called Church of the ‘New Lands’ refers to the geographical districts of southern Macedonia, south Epirus and western Thrace, which were incorporated in Greece after the Balkan Wars and the First World War. The New Lands are administratively under the jurisdiction of the Church of Greece, but spiritually under the authority of the Ecumenical Patriarch. However, this canonical framework of church operation has or might have a temporary character, because the Patriarchate of Constantinople has the competence to withdraw it and change the jurisdictional status of the New Lands. In other words, the Patriarchate can theoretically undertake at any given time the direct administration of the said ecclesiastical provinces. This state of affairs is defined by the Patriarchal and Synodal Act of 1928. According to its main provisions:
1) The Autocephalous Church of Greece takes the responsibility of administering the New Lands.
2) The New Lands remain at the spiritual jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch.
3) This state of affairs is temporary.
4) The synod of the Greek Church elects the bishops of the New Lands.
5) The Patriarch should approve all the nominees for the vacant sees. He can also erase from or add candidates to the catalogue of nominees.
6) The transfer of bishop from one ecclesiastical province to another is forbidden.

The Autocephalous Church of Greece and the so-called Church of the New Lands constitute the Church of Greece. Their unity is only administrative. As far as the spiritual jurisdiction is concerned, the Church of the New Lands is still under the supervision of the Ecumenical Patriarch. The governing bodies of the Church of Greece are two:
1) The Holy Synod, in which participate all the metropolitans from the Autocephalous Church and the Church of the New Lands. The Holy Synod has an annual assembly every October under the presidency of the Archbishop of Athens.
2) The Permanent Holy Synod is made up of 12 members of the Holy Synod (six from the Autocephalous Church and six from the Church of the New Lands). The members of the Permanent Synod change every year, except for the Archbishop, who is its thirteenth member and presides over the assemblies. The Permanent Synod is responsible for the daily administration of the institution.

c) The Church of Dodecanese Islands is under the jurisdiction, both administrative and spiritual, of the Ecumenical Patriarch.

d) The semi-autonomous Church of Crete was established in 1900 after the Ottoman Empire granted Crete an autonomous political status (1898). Since then, Crete has been under the spiritual jurisdiction of the Patriarchate of Constantinople. As far as administration is concerned, Crete has been semi-autonomous, namely it is governed by the Synod of its Bishops under the supervision of the Ecumenical Patriarch.

e) The monastic community of Mount Athos maintained its age- old privileged status, after the incorporation of the peninsula to Greece. On the one hand, it is under the spiritual jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch. On the other hand, it enjoys an independent, self-governing, status as far as its administrative affairs are concerned. The Assembly of the Representatives of the twenty Monasteries forms the supreme administrative authority of the monastic community.

D 13 December 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

Church-State Relations

Greece is a ’fully established’ religious market, regulated according to the ’State-law rule’ system. In particular, the Constitution defines the Parliament as the competent authority to regulate to (...)

Greece is a ’fully established’ religious market, regulated according to the ’State-law rule’ system. In particular, the Constitution defines the Parliament as the competent authority to regulate to a certain degree the administrative affairs of the Orthodox Church (art. 72), i.e. the principle of the State’s primacy. The Eastern Orthodox Church is recognized as the ’prevailing’ religion (art. 3). Two views have been suggested with regard to the interpretation of the term ’prevailing’. On the one hand, Nicos Alivizatos has argued that it means ’the overwhelming majority of the Greek people’ ("A New Role for the Greek Church?", Journal of Modern Greek Studies, 17, 1999, p. 23-40). On the other hand, it has been suggested by Charalampos Papastathis that art. 3 in conjunction to art. 72 actually establish the Church as a State agency, i.e. a State Church ("State and Church in Greece", in: Gerhard Robbers (ed.), State and Church in the European Union, 2005, Nomos Verlag, Baden-Baden, p. 115-138). The Constitutional Charter of the Church of Greece was recognized by the Parliament as state law (590/1977). The prevailing status of the Church in Greece is historically founded on the identification of Eastern Orthodoxy with national belonging, and is linked to the country’s mono-confessional composition, as well as to the social norms pertained in the Orthodox community at large.

The Orthodox Church, as well as the Jewish and Muslim community of Thrace, are recognized as having legal personality under public law. The customary law, which in practical terms many identify with Sharia law although this remains debated, is implemented as regards personal status and family relations of the Muslim minority in Western Thrace. This legal status is regulated by the Treaty of Lausanne (1923) between Greece and Turkey. Many voices have been raised against its maintenance, claiming it collides with the Human Rights values framework. The Constitution defines the development of ’religious consciousness’ (art. 16) as the State’s mission. The State protects the right to freedom of conscience (which includes the freedom not to believe), and the right to freedom of worship (art. 13). Several Churches (Roman Catholic, Coptic, Ethiopian, Armenian, Anglican and others) that do not enjoy legal personality under public law, have lately been recognized as having a ’religious personality’ under private law (L. 4301/2014). The Muslim immigrant community (like in Athens) used to face, until recently, certain limitations with regard to worship. Overall, since the 1990s, the State has gradually softened the restrictive framework over minority religious practices and institutions, as a result of the European Court of Human Rights rulings against Greece for violating art. 9 (freedom of religion) of the Convention (Dia Anagnostou, "Does European Human Rights Law Matter? Implementation and Domestic Impact of Strasbourg Court Judgements on Minority-Related Policies", The International Journal of Human Rights, 14/5, 2010, p. 721-743).

Voir PAPADOPOULOU Lina, "State and Church in Greece", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), State and Church in the European Union, Third ed., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2019, p. 171-194.

D 7 October 2016    AKonstantinos Papastathis

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Statut juridique des religions > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Structure et administration de l’Eglise orthodoxe en Grèce

Le territoire grec est divisé en 5 juridictions ecclésiastiques distinctes : a) l’Église autocéphale de Grèce ; b) l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » ; c) l’Église des îles du Dodécanèse ; d) l’Église (...)

Le territoire grec est divisé en 5 juridictions ecclésiastiques distinctes : a) l’Église autocéphale de Grèce ; b) l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » ; c) l’Église des îles du Dodécanèse ; d) l’Église de Crète ; et e) la communauté monastique autonome du mont Athos [Agion Oros // la Sainte Montagne].

a) l’Église autocéphale de Grèce est composée des diverses provinces ecclésiastiques situées en Grèce centrale, du Péloponnèse, des îles Cyclades, des îles Ioniennes et d’une importante partie de la Thessalie.
L’Église autocéphale de Grèce est établie en 1833 en qualité d’autorité religieuse compétente au sein du nouvel État grec. Cependant, le Patriarche œcuménique, dont dépendent les provinces ecclésiastiques respectives, ne reconnaît pas cette ordonnance législative et la considère comme une loi contraire aux canons de l’Église et comme un coup d’État ecclésiastique. C’est pourquoi, le statut d’église schismatique est attribué à la nouvelle organisation religieuse. La querelle prend fin en 1850, lorsque le Patriarcat de Constantinople publie le tome synodal en vertu duquel l’Église de Grèce est proclamée autocéphale ex nunc. Après l’intégration des régions des îles Ioniennes et de la Thessalie à la Grèce, le Patriarche œcuménique accepte de céder la juridiction canonique des districts concernés à l’Église de Grèce par le biais des lois patriarcales de 1866 et 1882 respectivement.

b) l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » correspond aux districts géographiques du sud de la Macédoine, de la partie sud de l’Épire et de l’ouest de la Thrace. Ils ont été intégrés à la Grèce après les guerres des Balkans et la première guerre mondiale. Les « Nouvelles Terres » sont sous la juridiction administrative de l’Église de Grèce, mais sous l’autorité spirituelle du Patriarche œcuménique. Cependant, ce cadre canonique du fonctionnement de l’église a ou pourrait avoir un caractère temporaire car le Patriarcat de Constantinople est compétent pour le retirer et modifier le statut juridictionnel des « Nouvelles Terres ». En d’autres termes, le Patriarcat peut théoriquement assumer à tout moment l’administration directe des provinces ecclésiastiques concernées. Cette situation est définie par la loi patriarcale et synodale de 1928, selon les dispositions principales suivantes :

1) L’Église autocéphale de Grèce prend la responsabilité d’administrer les « Nouvelles Terres ».
2) Les « Nouvelles Terres » restent sous la juridiction spirituelle du Patriarche œcuménique.
3) Cette situation est temporaire.
4) Le synode de l’Église de Grèce élit les évêques des « Nouvelles Terres ».
5) Le Patriarche doit approuver tous les postulants aux évêchés vacants. Il peut également retirer ou ajouter des candidats à la liste des postulants.
6) Il est interdit de transférer un évêque d’une province ecclésiastique à une autre.
L’Église autocéphale de Grèce et l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » constituent l’Église de Grèce. Leur unité est uniquement administrative. Pour ce qui concerne la juridiction spirituelle, l’Église dite des « Nouvelles Terres » reste sous la supervision du Patriarche œcuménique. Les instances gouvernantes de l’Église de Grèce sont au nombre de deux :
1) Le Saint-Synode auquel participent tous les métropolites de l’Église autocéphale de Grèce et de l’Église des « Nouvelles Terres ». En octobre, le Saint-Synode tient une assemblée annuelle sous la présidence de l’archevêque d’Athènes.
2) Le concile permanent du Saint-Synode est constitué de 12 membres du Saint-Synode (six membres de l’Église autocéphale de Grèce et six membres de l’Église des « Nouvelles Terres »). Les membres du concile permanent du Saint-Synode changent chaque année à l’exception de l’archevêque qui est le treizième membre et préside les assemblées. Le concile permanent du Saint-Synode est en charge de l’administration quotidienne de l’institution.

c) l’Église des îles du Dodécanèse est sous la juridiction administrative et spirituelle du Patriarche œcuménique.

d) l’Église semi-autonome de Crète est établie en 1900 après que l’Empire ottoman ait concédé à la Crète un statut politique autonome (1898). Depuis lors, la Crète est sous la juridiction spirituelle du Patriarcat de Constantinople. Concernant l’administration, la Crète est semi-autonome, c’est à dire qu’elle est gouvernée par le Synode de son évêque sous la supervision du Patriarche œcuménique.

e) Après l’intégration de la péninsule à la Grèce, la communauté monastique du mont Athos conserve son statut privilégié très ancien. D’une part, elle est sous la juridiction spirituelle du Patriarche œcuménique. D’autre part, elle bénéficie d’un statut autonome et indépendant concernant ses affaires administratives. L’assemblée des représentants des vingt monastères constitue l’autorité administrative suprême de la communauté monastique.

Décembre 2013
13 décembre 2013

Les relations Eglise-Etat

La Grèce est un marché religieux "pleinement établi" et réglementé selon le système du "régime de lois d’Etat". Dans la Constitution, le Parlement est défini comme l’autorité compétente qui régule les (...)

La Grèce est un marché religieux "pleinement établi" et réglementé selon le système du "régime de lois d’Etat". Dans la Constitution, le Parlement est défini comme l’autorité compétente qui régule les affaires administratives de l’Eglise orthodoxe jusqu’à un certain point (art. 72), c’est-à-dire le principe de la primauté de l’Etat. L’Eglise orthodoxe orientale est reconnue comme la religion "dominante" (art. 3). Deux opinions sont suggérées concernant l’interprétation du terme "dominante". D’une part, Nicos Alivizatos y voit le sens de "l’écrasante majorité du peuple grec" ("A New Role for the Greek Church ?", Journal of Modern Greek Studies, 17, 1999, p. 23-40). D’autre part, Charalampos Papastathis suggère que l’art. 3 et l’art. 72 définissent en réalité, de manière conjointe, l’Eglise comme une agence d’Etat, c’est-à-dire une Eglise d’Etat ("State and Church in Greece", dans : Gerhard Robbers (ed.), State and Church in the European Union, 2005, Nomos Verlag, Baden-Baden, p. 115-138). La Charte constitutionnelle de l’Eglise de Grèce a été reconnue par le Parlement en tant que loi d’Etat (590/1977). Le statut dominant de l’Eglise de Grèce est fondé historiquement sur l’identification de l’orthodoxie orientale à l’appartenance nationale, il est lié à la composition mono-confessionnelle du pays, ainsi qu’aux normes sociales concernant la communauté orthodoxe en général.

L’Eglise orthodoxe ainsi que les communautés juive et musulmane de Thrace sont reconnues comme personnalités juridiques en vertu du droit public. Le droit coutumier, que beaucoup associent en pratique à la charia bien que cela reste l’objet de débats, est appliqué en ce qui concerne le statut personnel et les relations familiales de la minorité musulmane en Thrace occidentale. Ce statut légal est régi par le Traité de Lausanne de 1923 signé par la Grèce et la Turquie. De nombreuses voix se sont élevées contre son maintien en affirmant qu’il est contraire au cadre des valeurs des droits de l’homme. La Constitution définit le développement de la "conscience religieuse" (art. 16) en tant que mission de l’Etat. L’Etat protège le droit à la liberté de conscience (qui inclut la liberté de ne pas croire) et le droit à la liberté de culte (art. 13). Plusieurs Eglises (catholique romaine, copte, éthiopienne, arménienne, anglicane parmi d’autres), qui ne bénéficient pas du statut de personnalité juridique en droit public, ont récemment obtenu la reconnaissance en tant que "personnalité religieuse" sous le régime du droit privé (L. 4301/2014). La communauté musulmane, à Athènes par exemple, a fait face à certaines restrictions concernant le culte encore récemment. Depuis les années quatre-vingt-dix et de manière générale, l’Etat a graduellement assoupli le cadre restrictif concernant les pratiques et les institutions des minorités religieuses suite aux décisions de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme à l’encontre de la Grèce pour la violation de l’art. 9 (liberté de religion) de la Convention (Dia Anagnostou, "Does European Human Rights Law Matter ? Implementation and Domestic Impact of Strasbourg Court Judgements on Minority-Related Policies", The International Journal of Human Rights, 14/5, 2010, p. 721-743).

Voir PAPASTATHIS Charalambos, "État et Églises en Grèce", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), État et Églises dans l’Union européenne, 2e éd., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2008 (mis à jour en avril 2010), p. 121-146.

7 octobre 2016