eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Country information

Country information

General overview

  • Area: 9.250 km² (of which 3.355 km² are in North Cyprus)
  • Population: 856.857 (2011)
  • Capital: Lefkosia (Nicosia): 334.120
  • Largest cities and number of inhabitants: Lemesos (Limassol): 239.739 inh., Larnaka: 145.365 inh.
  • Official language and other languages: Greek and Turkish are the official languages. English is widely spoken.

Note: As a result of the attempt of coup d’État of the Greek junta and the Turkish military intervention of 1974, the island of Cyprus is nowadays divided de facto in two: the Republic of Cyprus occupying the main part of the country (70 %), the smaller part being the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC), self-proclaimed independent in 1983 but recognized only by Ankara. The Republic of Cyprus held the latest census in Oct. 2011, which covered only the government-controlled area. Turkish Cypriots residing outside the controlled area were not included in the census.

Source: Statistical Service POPULATION BY DISTRICT, 1996-2012.

D 3 December 2014   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2023 eurel - Contact