eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Austria » Historical highlights » Chronology » Chronology


1517: publication of Martin Luther’s 95 Theses and beginning of the Reformation
Sixteenth century: Reformation reaches Austria and large parts of the population become Protestants
1545: Council of Trent and beginning of the Counter-Reformation
1618 to 1648: Thirty Years’ war
1781/82: Edicts of Tolerance grant certain rights to Protestant and Greek-Catholic Christians and Jews
1848: bourgeois-democratic revolution and counterrevolution
1867: Basic Law of the State on the General Rights of Citizens establishes fundamental individual rights and rights for religious communities recognised by the law
1874: Law on Recognition of Churches and Religious Societies specifies procedures for legal recognition
1877: Legal recognition of the Old Catholic Church according to the Law on Recognition of Churches and Religious Societies of 1874
1878/1908: Annexation and occupation of the Ottoman provinces of Bosnia and Herzegovina
1890: “Jewish Law” grants legal recognition to Jewish communities
1912: Islam Law grants legal recognition to Islamic communities following the Sunni-Hanafi tradition
1918: Proclamation of the First Republic of German Austria
1933/34-1938: Austro-fascist rule
1938-1945: National Socialist (Nazi) rule
1945: Restoration of Austria as an independent state (limited sovereignty/allied occupation until 1955)

D 21 February 2022    AAstrid Mattes AKerstin Wonisch

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2023 eurel - Contact