eurel     Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà
Vous êtes ici : Accueil » Belgique » Informations générales sur le pays » Informations générales sur le pays

Informations générales sur le pays

  • Area : 30, 528 km² (earthly area).
  • Population : 11, 000, 000 (2012), include 1,000,000 foreigners.
  • Capital : Brussels
  • Largest cities and number of inhabitants : Brussels - Capital (1,089,000), Antwerp (483,505), Ghent (243,366), Charleroi (202,598), Liege (192,504).
  • Official languages : Dutch, French, German.
  • Regions : Belgium is a federal State divided into communities and regions. Today, Belgium is made up of three communities (the Flemish community, the French-speaking community and the German-speaking community), three regions (the Flemish region, Brussels-Capital Region and Wallonia), 10 provinces (Antwerp, West Flanders, East Flanders, Liège, Namur, Flemish Brabant, Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Limburg, Luxembourg ; the Brussels-Capital Region is not divided into a province) and 589 municipalities.

Belgium has six recognised religions (Catholicism, Anglicanism, Judaism, Orthodoxy, Protestantism and Islam) ; secularism is also recognised. Other religions are also present, including Buddhism and Jehovah’s Witness.

Source :Institut national de Statistique.

D 12 juillet 2012   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Suivez nous :
© 2002-2024 eurel - Contact