eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Religions and society » Religious minorities

Religious minorities

General overview

This heading provides information on the social perception of religious groups in Cyprus. For further information concerning religious minorities in Cyprus, see the Social and religious data (...)

This heading provides information on the social perception of religious groups in Cyprus. For further information concerning religious minorities in Cyprus, see the Social and religious data heading.

  • For further information, see Mineurel, website of information on religious minorities, concerning Cyprus.

D 5 March 2012   

The Armenian Community

Armenian-Cypriot relations date back to the late 6th century, when about 10.000 Armenians, who had fallen captives during the Byzantine-Persian wars, were resettled on the island as mercenaries. (...)

Armenian-Cypriot relations date back to the late 6th century, when about 10.000 Armenians, who had fallen captives during the Byzantine-Persian wars, were resettled on the island as mercenaries. During the Latin Period, intermarriages between the royal houses of the Lusignan and the Cilician kingdom consolidated further the connection between the island and the Armenian people. The geographic proximity of the island just of the shores of Cilicia, enabled many Armenians, fleeing from Arab raids in the early 14th century, to take refuge on the island. The villages Platani, Kornokipos and Spathariko were set up to house the new arrivals.

At the beginning of British administration, however, only a small number of Armenians lived in Cyprus mainly in the urban environments of Larnaca and Nicosia. With the onset of persecutions of Armenians in the Ottoman Empire and the genocide of 1915, the Armenian Community of Cyprus was to be fundamentally changed. Cyprus once again became a place of refuge for thousands of Armenians from Western Anatolia. Yet, to a majority of these so-called “Boat People” the island remained a transit place, from where they continued their emigration to other destinations, mainly Britain and the U.S.

Today’s Armenian Community consists mainly of the descendants of these Genocide refugees. Up to 1963, the majority of Armenians lived in a mainly Turkish-speaking neighbourhood of Nicosia. With the outbreak of interethnic conflicts, nearly the entire community of about 3.500 persons moved to the South to live among the Greek-Cypriot majority.

According to the estimations of the Demographic Report of 2004, the Armenians of Cyprus make up about 0, 3 % of the total population of the island. They are predominantly of Gregorian-Apostolic faith, though there are also a few Catholic and Protestant families. This confessional diversity, however, has not been a hindrance for intermarriages within the Armenian Community.
The fall of the Eastern Block has brought further Armenians, this time from the Republic of Armenia to Cyprus. The integration of these new arrivals into the Community has been a special challenge.

Since the 1930s, the Armenian-Apostolic Church of Cyprus stands under the jurisdiction of the Catholicosat of Antelias, Lebanon. In the 1980s a new church with an elementary school has been constructed in Nicosia to cater for the needs of a growing community.

The historical centres of Armenian life in Cyprus are the Sourp Magar Monastery in the Kerynia district, a formerly Coptic monastery handed over to the Armenian Church by the Ottomans, and the St. Asdvadzadzin Church in the old town of Nicosia, which was originally constructed in the 13th century as cloister for Benedictine nuns. Today, both centres lie in ruins. Being situated in the North of the island, they have been inaccessible to the community. Attempts to safe these places of cultural and religious heritage, have led Cypriot Armenians to appeal to charitable organisations of the Armenian Diaspora.

A further centre of major importance for Armenian diasporic life has been the Melkonian Educational Institute (MEI), situated in Nicosia. Founded in 1926 as an orphanage by Krikor and Garabed Melkonian, it has since developed into a major diasporic institution providing Armenian secondary education for Armenian youth, Cypriot and foreign. The decision of the Armenian General Benevolent Union (AGBU) to close the school in 2005 is likely to have an effect not only on the Armenian Community of Cyprus, but also throughout the wider Armenian Diaspora. Armenians in Cyprus are currently involved in finding new ways to provide Armenian secondary education for members of their own community.

D 12 September 2012    AIrene Dietzel

The Latin Community

The history of the Latin Community of Cyprus is one of urban populations and monastic institutions. The term "Latin" refers to Roman-Catholic Cypriots of European origin, thereby drawing a (...)

The history of the Latin Community of Cyprus is one of urban populations and monastic institutions. The term "Latin" refers to Roman-Catholic Cypriots of European origin, thereby drawing a distinction to Armenian or Maronite Catholics. The Latin presence of the island goes back to the main phases of settlement during the Lusignan (1192-1489) and Venetian (1489-1572) periods. With the beginning of Frankish rule on the island, the bull of Pope Celestine III of 1196 establishes the Catholic Church as the main Church of Cyprus, which it was to remain until the Ottoman Conquest in 1571. During this hegemonic period, the Latin Church strengthened her supremacy by reducing the number of Greek-Orthodox bishoprics from 14 to the 4 it holds today (Paphos, Larnaca/Kition, Kyrenia and Nicosia).

During the Ottoman period, the Roman-Catholic Church lost her primacy over Cyprus. Monastic organizations, however, continued to function on the island and to meet the needs not only of Catholic inhabitants, but also numerous Christian Pilgrims, who traveled through Cyprus on their way to the Holy Land.

The Franciscan convent of St. Lazarus was founded in Larnaca in 1593. Being a place of equally high importance to the Orthodox Church, it proved to be a contested object – in 1784 following the Orthodox Clergy’s protests to the Ottoman authorities, the celebration of Latin service in the Church was forbidden. In such circumstances, overlaps of Orthodox and Catholic ritual spaces were not uncommon – such as an Orthodox church in Aya Napa that housed a separate Altar for performing sacraments according to Catholic rite.

Maintenance of Catholic presence and influence, however, continued to be of major concern to Catholic authorities in Western Europe. In 1629, the Congregation for the Propagation of Faith (Propaganda Fidei) founded a Roman-Catholic bishopric in Paphos with jurisdiction over Latins and Maronites.
Throughout the 18th century the Franciscans and Capuchin Friars maintained houses in Paphos and Larnaca. Towards the end of the century, the Venetians revive their longstanding connection to the island and establish a consulate in Larnaca. The harbor of Larnaca becomes a magnet for many Western European Catholics involved in trade and commerce. Italians and Maltese begin to settle in and around the city and Italian becomes an important language for the affairs of the harbor. According to traveler’s accounts from the 19th century, there are also about 1,000 Greek-Catholic (Uniates) living in the city.

The 19th century in Cyprus is a time of heightened missionary activity. While American Protestant activities turned out to be rather short-lived, (1833-1841), following charges of proselytizing and outspoken antagonism from the Orthodox Church, the Sisters of the Roman Catholic Order of St Joseph of the Apparition still founded a hospital, a pharmacy and a girls school in 1844. Further small schools that were founded towards the end of the 19th Century in the district of Limassol had to close due to competition of the flourishing Greek-Orthodox educational institutions.

Just like Maronites and Catholics, the Latins make up one of the official religious communities of the Greek-Cypriot majority of the island. The Demographic Report of 2004 estimates the number of Latins to 900, or 0, 1% of the Greek Cypriot community. Another survey, however, conducted with the assistance of the Roman Catholic clergy, states that the Latin Community currently consists of roughly 7.000, members, including foreign residents. These estimations rise to 13.000 Roman Catholics, when immigrants and oversea workers are added to this number. The Latin Community of Cyprus has always been ethnically heterogeneous, while from a socio-economical perspective, the Latins were and are almost entirely urban dwellers. Lately, the Latin Church of the Holy Cross in Nicosia has adjusted to the influx of large numbers of Philippine and Sri Lankan Catholics by providing services in the immigrant languages.

D 12 September 2012    AIrene Dietzel

The Maronite Community

The earliest settlements of Maronites in Cyprus date back to the 8th Century A.D, when Islamic conquests and inter-Christian rivalries caused many Maronites from Syria and Palestine to take (...)

The earliest settlements of Maronites in Cyprus date back to the 8th Century A.D, when Islamic conquests and inter-Christian rivalries caused many Maronites from Syria and Palestine to take refuge on the island. The available historical sources give reason to assume the existence of active communities on the island, with their own clergy residing among them, by the early 12th century. Throughout the Latin Period (1192-1572), Maronite immigration continued. Many Maronites followed Guy de Lusignian’s call for Christians of the Near East to settle on the island. Yet, the Maronite Community did not only thrive during the Latin Period, but also experienced Latinizing pressures, especially under the Venetians (1489-1572).

Following the Ottoman Conquest of the island, the Maronite Community had to face up to further suppression and severe restrictions of their rights. Many immigrated to Lebanon or followed the Venetians to Malta. Throughout the 17th century, large numbers of Christians, Maronites as well as Greek Orthodox, adjusted to the new hegemonial system by converting to Islam. In 1671, the Latin clergy was exiled from Cyprus. The confessional proximity of the Maronites and Latin populations, as well as the new aggravated circumstances for Catholics, brought the Maronite and Catholic communities closer together. In 1690, Archbishop Maronios held the service in the Maronite and Roman-catholic rite.

The Maronite Communities also experienced pressures from the Orthodox populations. Following an original Berat of the Sultan, they were subjected to the jurisdiction of the Orthodox Church in the mid 18th century. The Maronite Clergy preferred to reside in Lebanon, and it was not until a French intervention in 1845, that a Maronite bishop returned once again to the island as general vicar. After continuous regression of their numbers on the island, the Maronite Community recovered under British administration (1878-1960). Their political and religious rights were consolidated, while the new government financed the building of schools.

The Demographic Report of the year 2004 estimates the Maronite population of Cyprus at 4.800 people. Following the interethnic conflicts of 1963, most of the Maronites have emigrated to the South, where they live among the Greek Cypriots, making up about 0, 7 % of the Population. There are, however, four Maronite villages left in the North: Kormakiti, Asomatos, Agia Marina, Karpasia, with an overall population of about 200 persons.

As the Maronite Community of Cyprus has largely been agricultural, the experience of displacement of the rural populations has had a devastating effect on the small village communities. Yet, until the opening of the Green Line in 2003, Maronites had the right to acquire three-day passes for the North, while Maronites in the North were entitled to five day passes for the South. Thereby, the contact between the village communities and Maronite refugees in the South could be maintained.

With Government assistance they now have churches in Nicosia and Limassol, and one elementary school in Nicosia. Today, however, Maronites largely attend Greek Cypriot schools. The post-1974 period has been one of strong assimilation and increased intermarriage with Greek Cypriots. In 1998 the St Peter’s Centre or "Maronite Cypriot House" has been established in Lebanon, with the intentions to strengthen ties of Cypriot Maronites with their homeland and to provide a setting for the dissemination of, and education in Maronite religion and culture.

D 12 September 2012    AIrene Dietzel

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Religion et société > Minorités religieuses

Minorités religieuses

Présentation générale

Cette rubrique commente la présence sociale des minorités religieuses présentes à Chypre. Pour plus d’information sur les religions à Chypre, voir la rubrique données socio-religieuses. Pour plus (...)

Cette rubrique commente la présence sociale des minorités religieuses présentes à Chypre. Pour plus d’information sur les religions à Chypre, voir la rubrique données socio-religieuses.

  • Pour plus d’information, voir Mineurel, site d’information sur les minorités religieuses, sur Chypre.
5 mars 2012

La communauté arménienne

Les relations entre l’Arménie et Chypre remontent à la fin du 6e s., lorsqu’environ 10 000 Arméniens, qui avaient été fait prisonniers pendant les guerres entre les empires perse et byzantin, furent (...)

Les relations entre l’Arménie et Chypre remontent à la fin du 6e s., lorsqu’environ 10 000 Arméniens, qui avaient été fait prisonniers pendant les guerres entre les empires perse et byzantin, furent installés sur l’île en tant que mercenaires. Durant la période latine, les mariages entre les maisons royales des Lusignans et du royaume cilicien continuèrent à consolider les liens entre l’île et le peuple arménien. La proximité géographique de l’île, située au large des rives de Cilice, permit à de nombreux Arméniens fuyant les raids arabes du début du 14e s. de se réfugier sur l’île. Les villages de Platani, Kornokipos et Spathariko furent construits afin d’accueillir les nouveaux arrivants.

Toutefois, au début de l’administration britannique, seul un petit nombre d’Arméniens vivaient à Chypre, pour la plupart dans les zones urbaines de Larnaca et Nicosie. Le début des persécutions de l’Empire ottoman à l’encontre des Arméniens et le génocide de 1915 ont profondément bouleversé la communauté arménienne de Chypre. Chypre redevint un refuge pour des milliers d’Arméniens originaires d’Anatolie occidentale. Toutefois, pour la majorité de ces "Boat People", comme on les surnomma, l’île demeurait un lieu de transit, depuis lequel ils poursuivaient leur émigration vers d’autres destinations, principalement la Grande-Bretagne et les Etats-Unis.

La communauté arménienne actuelle est principalement composée des descendants de ces réfugiés du génocide. Jusqu’en 1963, la majorité des Arméniens vivaient dans un quartier de Nicosie majoritairement turcophone. Avec l’éclatement de conflits interethniques, presque toute la communauté, constituée d’environ 3 500 personnes, migra vers le sud, pour vivre au sein de la majorité chypriote grecque.

Selon les estimations du bilan démographique de 2004, les Arméniens de Chypre représentent environ 0,3 % de la population totale de l’île. Ils sont essentiellement de confession grégorienne apostolique, bien qu’il y ait également quelques familles catholiques et protestantes. Cette diversité confessionnelle n’a toutefois pas constitué un obstacle aux mariages au sein de la communauté arménienne. La chute du bloc de l’est a poussé de nouveaux Arméniens à immigrer vers Chypre, cette fois à partir de la République d’Arménie. L’intégration de ces nouveaux arrivants au sein de la communauté constitua un défi important.

Depuis les années 1930, l’Eglise apostolique arménienne de Chypre se trouve sous la juridiction du Catholicossat d’Antélias, au Liban. Dans les années 1980, une nouvelle église, disposant d’une école élémentaire, fut construite à Nicosie pour répondre aux besoins de cette communauté grandissante.

Les centres historiques de la vie arménienne à Chypre sont le monastère de Sourp Magar dans la région de Kérynia, un ancien monastère copte cédé à l’Eglise arménienne par les Ottomans, et l’Eglise de St. Asdvadzadzin dans la vieille ville de Nicosie, qui fut construite au 13e s. à l’origine pour abriter un cloître pour des nonnes bénédictines. Aujourd’hui, il ne reste que des ruines de ces deux centres. Situés dans le nord de l’île, la communauté ne pouvait y accéder. Les tentatives pour sauver ces lieux d’héritage culturel et religieux ont amené les Arméniens chypriotes à faire appel à des organisations caritatives de la diaspora arménienne.

Le Melkonian Educational Institute (MEI – Institut Melkonian), situé à Nicosie, fut également un centre d’une grande importance pour la vie de la diaspora arménienne. Orphelinat fondé en 1926 par Krikor et Garabed Melkonian, il est ensuite devenu une institution majeure de la diaspora, dispensant un enseignement secondaire arménien aux jeunes tant Arméniens que Chypriotes ou d’autres nationalités. La décision de l’Union Générale Arménienne de Bienfaisance (UGAB) de fermer l’école en 2005 est susceptible d’avoir un impact, non seulement sur la communauté arménienne de Chypre, mais également sur la diaspora arménienne en général. Les Arméniens de Chypre sont actuellement à la recherche de nouvelles façons de fournir un enseignement secondaire aux membres de leur communauté.

12 septembre 2012

La communauté latine

L’histoire de la communauté latine de Chypre est celle de populations urbaines et d’institutions monastiques. Le terme "latine" se rapporte aux Chypriotes catholiques romains d’origine européenne, ce (...)

L’histoire de la communauté latine de Chypre est celle de populations urbaines et d’institutions monastiques. Le terme "latine" se rapporte aux Chypriotes catholiques romains d’origine européenne, ce qui les distingue des Catholiques arméniens ou maronites. La présence latine sur l’île remonte aux principales étapes de colonisation à l’époque des Lusignan (1192-1489) et des Vénitiens (1489-1572). Avec le début de la domination franque sur l’île, la bulle du pape Célestin III de 1196 fait de l’Eglise catholique la principale Eglise de Chypre, ce qu’elle resta jusqu’à la conquête ottomane en 1571. Durant cette période hégémonique, l’Eglise latine renforça sa suprématie en réduisant le nombre d’évêchés grecs orthodoxes de 14 aux 4 existants aujourd’hui (Paphos, Larnaca/Kition, Kyrénia et Nicosie).

Durant la période ottomane, l’Eglise catholique romaine perdit sa suprématie sur Chypre. Toutefois, les organisations monastiques continuèrent de fonctionner sur l’île et de répondre aux besoins, non seulement des habitants catholiques, mais aussi des nombreux pèlerins chrétiens qui faisaient escale à Chypre au cours de leur voyage vers la Terre Sainte.

Le couvent franciscain de St. Lazare fut fondé à Larnaca en 1593. Ce couvent étant également un lieu important pour l’Eglise orthodoxe, il s’avera être l’enjeu de conflits – en 1784, à la suite des protestations du clergé orthodoxe auprès des autorités ottomanes, la célébration de services latins fut interdite dans l’Eglise. Auparavant, le recouvrement des espaces rituels orthodoxes et catholiques était monnaie courante – par exemple une église orthodoxe à Aya Napa abritait un autel séparé pour la célébration des sacrements selon le rite catholique.

Toutefois, le maintien de la présence et de l’influence catholique continua d’être un souci majeur pour les autorités catholiques d’Europe occidentale. En 1629, la Congrégation pour la propagation de la foi (Propaganda Fidei) fonda un évêché catholique romain à Paphos sous la juridiction duquel furent placés Latins et Maronites.
Tout au long du 18e s., les moines franciscains et capucins maintinrent des maisons religieuses à Paphos et Larnaca. A la fin du siècle, les Vénitiens ravivèrent les liens durables qui les unissaient à l’île et établirent un consulat à Larnaca. Le port de Larnaca attira comme un aimant de nombreux catholiques européens occidentaux exerçant des activités commerciales. Des Italiens et des Maltais commencèrent à s’installer dans la ville et ses alentours et l’italien devint une langue importante pour les affaires de ce port. Selon les récits de voyageurs du 19e s., on comptait aussi environ 1 000 Grecs catholiques (Uniates) vivant dans la ville.

Le 19e s. à Chypre vit s’intensifier l’activité missionnaire. Les activités des protestants américains tournèrent court (1833-1841), suite aux accusations de prosélytisme émises par l’Eglise orthodoxe et à son opposition ouverte ; les soeurs de l’ordre catholique romain de St Joseph de l’Apparition fondèrent cependant un hôpital, une pharmacie et une école de filles en 1844. D’autres petites écoles, créées vers la fin du 19e s. dans la région de Limassol, durent fermer du fait de la concurrence des prospères établissements d’enseignement orthodoxes grecs.

Tout comme les maronites et les catholiques, les latins sont l’une des communautés religieuses officielles de la majorité chypriote grecque de l’île. Le bilan démographique de 2004 estime le nombre de latins à 900, soit 0,1 % de la communauté chypriote grecque. Toutefois, un autre recensement, réalisé avec l’aide du clergé catholique romain, établit que la communauté latine compte aujourd’hui environ 7 000 membres, résidents étrangers compris. L’estimation s’élève à 13 000 catholiques romains si l’on inclut les immigrants et les travailleurs étrangers.
La communauté latine de Chypre a toujours été hétérogène d’un point de vue ethnique ; par contre, si l’on se place dans une perspective socio-économique, on constate que les latins habitaient et habitent toujours presque exclusivement en zone urbaine. L’Eglise de la Sainte-Croix à Nicosie s’est récemment adaptée à l’afflux d’un grand nombre de Catholiques venus des Philippines et du Sri Lanka en célébrant des offices dans la langue des immigrants.

12 septembre 2012

La communauté maronite

Les premiers établissements de maronites sur Chypre remontent au 8e s., lorsque les conquêtes islamiques et les rivalités entre chrétiens poussèrent de nombreux maronites originaires de Syrie et de (...)

Les premiers établissements de maronites sur Chypre remontent au 8e s., lorsque les conquêtes islamiques et les rivalités entre chrétiens poussèrent de nombreux maronites originaires de Syrie et de Palestine à trouver refuge sur l’île. Les sources historiques disponibles laissent à penser qu’il existait des communautés actives sur l’île, possédant leur propre clergé résidant, aux environs du début du 12e s. L’immigration maronite s’est poursuivie tout au long de la période latine (1192-1572). De nombreux maronites répondirent à l’appel de Guy de Lusignian exhortant les chrétiens du Proche Orient à s’installer sur l’île. Toutefois, la communauté maronite n’a pas uniquement prospéré durant la période latine ; elle a également connu la pression latine, particulièrement sous la domination vénitienne (1489-1572).

Après la conquête de l’île par les Ottomans, la communauté maronite dut faire face à d’autres restrictions importantes voire suppressions de leurs droits. Beaucoup immigrèrent au Liban ou suivirent les Vénitiens à Malte. Tout au long du 17e s., un grand nombre de chrétiens, maronites mais aussi Grecs orthodoxes, s’adaptèrent au nouveau système hégémonique en se convertissant à l’islam. En 1671, le clergé latin fut exilé de Chypre. La proximité confessionnelle des populations maronite et latine, ainsi que l’aggravation nouvelle de la situation des catholiques, rapprochèrent les communautés maronite et catholique. En 1690, l’archevêque Maronios célébra l’office selon le rite maronite et catholique romain.

Les communautés maronites connurent également des pressions provenant des populations orthodoxes. Suite à un Berat du sultan, il fut décidé au milieu du 18e s. qu’ils relevaient de la juridiction de l’Eglise orthodoxe. Le clergé maronite préféra résider au Liban, et ce n’est qu’en 1845, après l’intervention de la France, qu’un évêque maronite put retourner sur l’île en tant que vicaire général. Après avoir vu le nombre de ses membres régresser sans cesse sur l’île, la communauté maronite s’étoffa sous l’administration britannique (1878-1960). Ses droits politiques et religieux furent consolidés avec le financement de la construction d’écoles par le nouveau gouvernement.

Le bilan démographique de 2004 évalue la population maronite de Chypre à 4 800 personnes. Suite aux conflits interethniques de 1963, la plupart des maronites émigrèrent au sud, où ils vivent désormais parmi les Chypriotes grecs et représentent environ 0,7 % de la population. Toutefois, il existe toujours au nord quatre villages maronites : Kormakiti, Asomatos, Agia Marina, Karpasia, d’une population totale de près de 200 personnes.

La communauté maronite de Chypre ayant été majoritairement une population agricole, le déplacement des populations rurales a eu un effet dévastateur sur les petites communautés villageoises. Néanmoins, en attendant l’ouverture de la Ligne verte en 2003, les maronites avaient le droit d’obtenir des sauf-conduits de trois jours pour se rendre dans le nord, tandis que les maronites du nord avaient droit à des sauf-conduits de cinq jours pour se rendre dans le sud. Ainsi les contacts entre les communautés villageoises et les réfugiés maronites du sud ont-ils pu être préservés.

Grâce à l’aide du gouvernement, ils disposent aujourd’hui d’églises à Nicosie et Limassol, et d’une école primaire à Nicosie. Néanmoins, à ce jour, les maronites fréquentent en majorité les écoles chypriotes grecques. La période postérieure à 1974 fut marquée par une forte assimilation et une augmentation du nombre de mariages avec des chypriotes grecs. En 1998, le St Peter’s Centre (également appelé "Maison maronite de Chypre") fut institué au Liban, dans l’intention de renforcer les liens des maronites chypriotes avec leur patrie, de fournir un cadre à cette diaspora et un enseignement de la religion et de la culture maronites.

12 septembre 2012