eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Switzerland » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

26 systems of ecclesiastical law

The Federal Constitution of the Swiss Confederation begins with a reference to "God Almighty" and "Creation". After such a preamble, one could imagine a constitution that strongly promotes (...)

The Federal Constitution of the Swiss Confederation begins with a reference to "God Almighty" and "Creation".
After such a preamble, one could imagine a constitution that strongly promotes Christianity, or at least the monotheistic religions. It just so happens that this is not the case. As a matter of fact, the Swiss Constitution is very liberal and declares itself neutral where religion is concerned by guaranteeing freedom of conscience and belief under article 15. This liberty and neutrality, however, are somewhat limited under article 72 which holds that "the regulation of relations between Church and State is a cantonal matter" (See section entitled Main Texts).

This means that despite the Confederation’s very liberal attitude, each canton has the possibility of choosing their own individual way to regulate relations between the State and religions, while respecting the limits set out by the Federal Constitution.

As a result, there are 26 systems of ecclesiastical law in Switzerland. Each canton defines the relation it wishes to maintain with the historical Churches (the Roman Catholic Church and the Reformed Church), as well as with the other religious groups.
The most liberal regime is the one applied in the canton of Geneva. In that canton there has been an (almost) perfect separation between the Churches and the State since 1907. The canton that have the most regulations is the Vaud canton, where the new cantonal Constitution (2003) recognises the Reformed Church and the Roman Catholic Church as institutions under public law and the Jewish community as a public interest institution. Other religious groups also have the possibility of being recognised. All of the other cantons enforce laws that fall between these two extremes. In most cantons, the Reformed Church and the Roman Catholic Church – and sometimes even the Catholic Christian Church – are recognised under public law, a status which implies certain rights and obligations. These rights may include the possibility of taxing individuals and legal entities, being exempt from paying taxes, teaching religion courses in school or providing religious services in hospitals, prisons or the army.

In many cantons legislation reacts to the emergence of an increasing religious plurality. Nevertheless, this does not seem to lead to a greater separation of Churches and the State, but rather to the recognition of an ever-increasing number of religious groups.

D 8 October 2012    ACarole Wyser AJörg Stolz

Religious freedom in Switzerland

The history of religious freedom in Switzerland dates back over a century, and to understand the origins of this fundamental freedom here, one must go back to the wars of religion. Between the (...)

The history of religious freedom in Switzerland dates back over a century, and to understand the origins of this fundamental freedom here, one must go back to the wars of religion. Between the 15th century, which saw the advent of Protestantism, and the 19th century, Switzerland was torn by interreligious conflict. They ended with the Sonderbund War in 1847, which pitted Catholic and Protestant cantons against each other. At the end of this war, in 1848, the state enshrined freedom of worship in the national constitution. However, this only applied to Christian Churches and not to other communities, notably the Jews.

It was not until 1974 that freedom of worship was guaranteed to all religious communities in Article 49 of the constitution. On the same date, powers to manage religious matters were devolved to the Cantons, a provision still in force today (see the general presentation of the legal status of religions in Switzerland).

These arrangements were reinforced by constitutional revisions in 1999, which came into force in 2000. Article 15 of the constitution now guarantees freedom of conscience and belief:
Art. 15: “(1) Freedom of conscience and belief is guaranteed. (2) All individuals are entitled to freely choose their religion, form philosophical beliefs, and profess these individually or in a community. (3) All individuals are entitled to join or belong to a religious community and to receive religious education. (4) No-one may be compelled to join or belong to a religious community, to perform religious acts, or to receive religious education.”

This article was drafted not only on the basis of previous provisions but also on the basis of international conventions signed by Switzerland (Universal Declaration of Human Rights, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, European Convention on Human Rights; see the Humanrights website, Swiss human rights portal).

Finally, it should be noted that freedom of conscience and belief may be restricted under the conditions laid down in Article 36 of the constitution, namely: existence of a legal basis, justification on the grounds of public interest or protection of others’ fundamental rights, proportionality to the purpose of the restriction and preservation of the inviolable essence of this fundamental right.

D 18 January 2017    AAnaïd Lindemann

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Suisse > Droit et religion > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

26 systèmes de droit ecclésiastique

La Constitution fédérale de la Confédération helvétique débute par une référence à "Dieu Tout-Puissant" et à la "Création". Après un tel préambule, nous aurions pu imaginer trouver une constitution fortement (...)

La Constitution fédérale de la Confédération helvétique débute par une référence à "Dieu Tout-Puissant" et à la "Création".
Après un tel préambule, nous aurions pu imaginer trouver une constitution fortement favorable au christianisme, ou au moins aux religions monothéistes. Or, il se trouve que ce n’est pas le cas. En fait, la Constitution suisse est très libérale et se proclame neutre du point de vue confessionnel en garantissant la liberté de conscience et de croyance dans son art. 15. Cependant, cette liberté et cette neutralité trouvent une certaine limite dans l’art. 72, qui maintient que "la réglementation des rapports entre l’Eglise et l’Etat est du ressort des cantons" (Voir rubrique "Principaux textes").

Cela veut dire que, en dépit de l’attitude très libérale de la Confédération, chaque canton a la possibilité de choisir une manière individuelle de régler la relation entre Etat et religions, ce tout en respectant les limites données par la Constitution fédérale.

Par conséquent, il existe en Suisse 26 systèmes de droit ecclésiastique. Chaque canton définit la relation qu’il souhaite entretenir avec les Eglises historiques (l’Eglise catholique romaine et l’Eglise réformée), ainsi qu’avec les autres groupes religieux.
Le régime le plus libéral est appliqué dans le canton de Genève. On y trouve une séparation (presque) parfaite des Eglises et de l’Etat depuis 1907. L’exemple le plus régulé est le canton de Vaud. Dans ce canton, la nouvelle Constitution cantonale (2003) reconnaît l’Eglise réformée et l’Eglise catholique-romaine en tant qu’institutions de droit public, et la communauté israélite en tant qu’institution d’intérêt public, la reconnaissance d’autres groupes religieux restant possible. Tous les autres cantons appliquent des lois qui se trouvent entre ces deux cas extrêmes. Dans la plupart des cantons, l’Eglise réformée aussi bien que l’Eglise catholique romaine - et parfois l’Eglise catholique-chrétienne - sont reconnues de droit public, ce qui implique certains droits et devoirs. Concernant les droits, il peut s’agir de la possibilité d’imposer les personnes physiques et morales, d’être exempté d’impôt, de donner des cours d’éducation religieuse à l’école ou de prodiguer des services religieux dans les hôpitaux, les prisons ou à l’armée.

Dans beaucoup de cantons, nous pouvons observer que le droit réagit à l’émergence d’une pluralité religieuse croissante. Ceci ne semble pourtant pas mener à une plus grande séparation des Eglises et de l’Etat, mais plutôt à la reconnaissance d’un nombre toujours plus élevé de groupes religieux.

8 octobre 2012

La liberté religieuse en Suisse

En Suisse, la liberté religieuse a une histoire vieille de plus d’un siècle et il faut remonter aux guerres de religions pour comprendre la genèse de cette liberté fondamentale dans le pays. Entre le (...)

En Suisse, la liberté religieuse a une histoire vieille de plus d’un siècle et il faut remonter aux guerres de religions pour comprendre la genèse de cette liberté fondamentale dans le pays. Entre le 15e siècle, date de la naissance du protestantisme, et le 19e siècle, la Suisse a été déchirée par des luttes interreligieuses. Elles se sont terminées avec la guerre du Sonderbund en 1847 qui a opposé les cantons catholiques et protestants. A l’issue de cette guerre, soit en 1848, l’Etat a inscrit dans la Constitution la liberté de culte. Cependant, celle-ci s’appliquait uniquement aux Eglises chrétiennes et non pas aux autres communautés, juives notamment.

Ce n’est qu’en 1974 que la liberté de culte est garantie à toutes les communautés religieuses dans l’article 49 de la Constitution. A cette même date, la compétence pour gérer les questions religieuse est déléguée aux Cantons, disposition toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui (voir la présentation générale du statut juridique des religions en Suisse).

Ces acquis ont été renforcés par des révisions constitutionnelles en 1999, entrées en vigueur en 2000. L’article 15 de la Constitution garantit désormais la liberté de conscience et de croyance :
Art. 15 : « (1) La liberté de conscience et de croyance est garantie.
(2)Toute personne a le droit de choisir librement sa religion ainsi que de se forger ses convictions philosophiques et de les professer individuellement ou en communauté.
(3) Toute personne a le droit d’adhérer à une communauté religieuse ou d’y appartenir et de suivre un enseignement religieux.
(4) Nul ne peut être contraint d’adhérer à une communauté religieuse ou d’y appartenir, d’accomplir un acte religieux ou de suivre un enseignement religieux. »

Cet article a été rédigé en se basant, non seulement sur les dispositions antérieures mais également, en s’inspirant des conventions internationales auxquelles la Suisse a adhéré (Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme, Pacte II Droits civils et politiques de l’ONU, Convention européenne des droits de l’homme ; voir le site Humanrights, portail suisse des droits humains).

Enfin, notons que la liberté de conscience et de croyance peut faire l’objet de restrictions selon les conditions prévues à l’article 36 de la Constitution, à savoir : existence d’une base légale, justification par un intérêt public ou la protection d’un droit fondamental d’autrui, proportionnalité au but de la restriction et préservation de l’essence inviolable de ce droit fondamental.

18 janvier 2017