eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Sweden » Law and religion » Main texts

Main texts

Main acts regarding the religious communities

The most important act on religious communities is the Act on Religious Communities (lagen om trossamfund, 1998:1593). Important acts regarding the Church of Sweden are Church of Sweden Act (...)

The most important act on religious communities is the Act on Religious Communities (lagen om trossamfund, 1998:1593). Important acts regarding the Church of Sweden are Church of Sweden Act (lagen om Svenska kyrkan, 1998:1591) and Act on Inaugurating the Church of Sweden (lagen om införande av lagen om Svenska kyrkan, 1998:1592). State subsidies to the churches and religious communities are dealt with in the Act on Subsidies to Religious Communities (lagen om stöd till trossamfund, 1999:932) and the Ordinance on Grants to Religious Communities (förordningen om statsbidrag till trossamfund, 1999:974). There is also an Act on Collecting Church Levies from Members of Registered Religious Communities (lagen om avgift till registrerat trossamfund, 1999:728). In The Act on Right to Officiate Marriages within Faith Communities 1993:305) provisions in this matter are given. The Funeral Act (begravningslagen, 1990:1144) delegates the main responsibility of the administration of public burial plots to the Church of Sweden. The Act further states that special burial areas should be provided to people either without Christian faith or of other faith, Act on the Cultural environment (Kulturmiljölagen 1988:950).

According to the tradition of Swedish legislation there are – behind every act – several preparatory documents that could be of importance when the act is interpreted. These could be reports from commissions of inquiry, government bills, reports from parliamentary committees etc.

Updated by Per Pettersson

D 15 February 2016    ALars Friedner

Main acts on religious freedom

In 1951, Sweden issued a law guaranteeing freedom of religion by The Act on Religious Freedom (SFS 1951:680). In the Swedish constitution, The Instrument of Government Act (SFS 1974:152) it is (...)

In 1951, Sweden issued a law guaranteeing freedom of religion by The Act on Religious Freedom (SFS 1951:680). In the Swedish constitution, The Instrument of Government Act (SFS 1974:152) it is formulated as the “freedom to practice religion, alone or together with other people”. There is also a special Personal Information Act (SFS 1998:204) that prohibits the registration of religious or philosophical conviction as well as race, ethnicity, or political views.

D 8 March 2016    APer Pettersson

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Suède > Droit et religion > Principaux textes

Principaux textes

Les principaux textes concernant les communautés religieuses

Le texte le plus important régissant la situation des communautés religieuses est la loi sur les communautés religieuses (lagen om trossamfund, 1998:1593). Les textes les plus importants relatifs à (...)

Le texte le plus important régissant la situation des communautés religieuses est la loi sur les communautés religieuses (lagen om trossamfund, 1998:1593). Les textes les plus importants relatifs à l’Eglise de Suède sont la loi sur l’Eglise de Suède (lagen om Svenska kyrkan, 1998:1591) et la loi sur l’inauguration de l’Eglise de Suède (lagen om införande av lagen om Svenska kyrkan, 1998:1592). Les subventions de l’Etat aux Eglises et communautés religieuses sont détaillées dans la loi sur les subventions accordées aux communautés religieuses (lagen om stöd till trossamfund, 1999:932) et dans l’ordonnance relative aux subventions accordées aux communautés religieuses (förordningen om statsbidrag till trossamfund, 1999:974). Il existe également une loi sur le prélèvement des taxes religieuses provenant des membres des communautés religieuses enregistrées (lagen om avgift till registrerat trossamfund, 1999:728). les dispositions concernant le mariage figurent dans la loi relative au droit de célébrer des mariages au sein des communautés religieuses autres que l’Eglise de Suède (lagen om rätt att förrätta vigsel inom andra trossamfund än Svenska kyrkan, 1993:305).
La loi sur les funérailles (begravningslagen, 1990:1144) établit des dispositions relatives au droit pour les Eglises et les communautés religieuses de posséder des cimetières. La loi dispose en outre que des zones spéciales d’enterrement devraient être fournies aux personnes non chrétiennes ou ayant une autre croyance (lagen om kulturminnen m.m., 1988:950).

Conformément à la tradition législative suédoise, il existe – derrière chaque loi – plusieurs documents qui peuvent revêtir une certaine importance lorsqu’il s’agit d’interpréter la loi. Les rapports de commissions d’enquête, les projets de loi et les rapports des comités parlementaires n’en sont que quelques exemples.

mis à jour par Per Pettersson
15 février 2016

Les principales lois sur la liberté religieuse

8 mars 2016