eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Italy » Social and religious data » Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Religious development

The majority of Italians continue to describe themselves as "practicing Catholics", but according to a survey published recently, a good many of them are willing to change the order or even the (...)

The majority of Italians continue to describe themselves as "practicing Catholics", but according to a survey published recently, a good many of them are willing to change the order or even the content of the Ten Commandments.
A study carried out by the centre for social studies, Censis, for the Italian episcopate, shows that 57.8% of Italians say they are "practicing Catholics", thus confirming the roots of Catholicism in the country.
In addition to these 57.8% there are 28.7% non-practicing Catholics. A mere 9.2% of Italians said they were agnostic or atheist and 4.3% said they belonged to another religion.
Only 21.4% of practicing Catholics, however, said they go to church every Sunday, according to the Censis study. Another study carried out by the weekly newspaper Expresso shows that the moral standards of today have altered the order of the 10 Commandments.
According to this study carried out on believers and non-believers, a majority of Italians would be in favour of making the commandment "Thou shalt not kill" first instead of fifth. They also feel the second commandment should be the one on stealing. Italians said they would move the first commandment "You shall have no other God but me" to the seventh spot.
The Espresso’s study also shows that Italians today would be in favour of a new Decalogue, of which the first commandment would be to "not commit any act of violence against children". According to the newspaper, the new commandments Italians would like to see are to "always protect peace", "protect nature and animals", "treat men and women equally", "not be racist" or "not use science to alter human beings".

Source: AFP news item from 18 Nov. 2004.

D 27 September 2012   

Religious beliefs

Throughout Europe, the decline in terms of religious practice and engagement with the moral teachings of the Catholic Church is more pronounced than that of religious beliefs. This can probably (...)

Throughout Europe, the decline in terms of religious practice and engagement with the moral teachings of the Catholic Church is more pronounced than that of religious beliefs. This can probably be explained by the fact that an espousal of beliefs requires less effort than a commitment to practice. Belief appears to survive almost by cultural inertia as a part of tradition that is internalised during primary socialisation, while practice and ethics demand more involvement and motivation. These tendencies only emerge partially in the Italian case.
Nationwide research conducted in 2007 suggests that the section of the population that does not believe in God (12.8%) or believes only in an undefined higher power (4.5%) is limited. Most Italians accept the notion of God predominating in Italian culture, namely that of a higher being who takes an interest in all human beings. However, for part of the population, this belief is no longer as firm as it was in the past. For instance, 12% of Italians believe in God sporadically at certain times in their lives while 25% are uncertain about their faith. In contrast, 46% have no doubt in their belief in God.
Overall, over 80% of Italians appear to identify with the Christian notion of God, although a large proportion of these individuals experience doubts with regard to this belief. Uncertainty with regard to religious reference points is an emerging cultural trait that is apparent if we compare the data over approximately 15 years (Table 1). It is interesting to note that the number of people who believe in God (82.6%) is slightly lower than that of those who describe themselves as Catholic (86.1%).

Table 1 – Faith in the existence of god

ISSP 1991 Enquête 2007
Non believer 9,4 12,8
Sporadic faith 10 11,7
Faith mingled with doubt 20,6 25,1
Faith without doubt 51,4 45,9
Total 100 (983) 100 (3160)

Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (échantillon de 3160 individus)

If we analyse the survival rate of other religious beliefs over the past 30 years, it is evident that a belief in hell and sin has remained stable (shared by 50% and 65% of the population respectively) while a belief in heaven appears to be less constant. In any event, more Italians believe in heaven than hell, perhaps because people tend to prefer the idea of a reward rather than a punishment in the afterlife. The most important aspect that emerges from a comparison of people’s belief in heaven and hell on one hand and belief in life after death on the other, at least in the most recent surveys (1994 and 2007), is that significantly higher numbers of Italians believe in heaven or hell than in life after death. These contradictions reflect the fact that the issue of our ultimate end has become obscure and unclear for many Italians.

Table 2 – Non-Catholic adherence to other beliefs

EVS 1981 ISSP 1991 Survey 1994* Survey 2007**
Life after death 57 66,4 45,2 39,8
Hell 33 4 8,5 52,3 49,7
Heaven 44 58 74,3 63,5
Sin 66 65,7 64,8

* Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (sample of 4 500 individuals)
** Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), 2007 (sample of 3 160 individuals)

Source: Franco Garelli, Enzo Pace, Annalisa Frisina, “Portrait du Catholicisme en Italie”, in Alfonso Perez-Agote, Portraits du catholicisme, une comparaison européenne (Presses Universitaires Rennes, 2012). Research conducted as part of the work of the GERICR - European Interdisciplinary Research Group on Religious Change.

D 27 August 2015    AMariachiara Giorda

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Italie > Données socio-religieuses > Opinions et croyances religieuses

Opinions et croyances religieuses

Evolution religieuse

Les Italiens continuent à se définir en majorité comme des "catholiques pratiquants", mais nombre d’entre eux seraient prêts à modifier l’ordre ou même le contenu des dix commandements, selon des (...)

Les Italiens continuent à se définir en majorité comme des "catholiques pratiquants", mais nombre d’entre eux seraient prêts à modifier l’ordre ou même le contenu des dix commandements, selon des enquêtes publiées récemment.
Une enquête réalisée par le centre d’études sociales Censis pour le compte de l’épiscopat italien, indique que 57,8% des Italiens se disent "catholiques pratiquants", confirmant ainsi l’enracinement de la religion catholique dans le pays.
A ces 57,8% s’ajoutent 28,7% de catholiques non-pratiquants. Seuls 9,2% des Italiens se déclarent agnostiques ou athées, et 4,3% disent appartenir à une autre religion.
Seuls 21,4% des catholiques pratiquants disent toutefois aller à la messe tous les dimanches, selon l’enquête du Censis.
Une autre étude réalisée par l’hebdomadaire l’Espresso montre que la morale d’aujourd’hui a modifié l’ordre des 10 commandements.
Selon cette enquête conduite auprès de croyants et de non-croyants, une majorité d’Italiens serait en faveur du déplacement de la cinquième place à la première place du commandement "tu ne tueras point", qui devrait selon eux être suivi du commandement contre le vol. Les Italiens rétrograderaient en revanche à la septième place le premier commandement : "tu n’auras pas d’autres dieux que moi".
L’enquête de l’Espresso montre aussi que les Italiens aujourd’hui seraient pour un nouveau décalogue, dont le premier commandement serait de "ne faire aucune violence à l’enfance". Parmi les nouveaux commandements souhaités, figurent selon le journal, "toujours défendre la paix", "défendre la nature et les animaux", "ne pas faire de différence entre hommes et femmes", "ne pas être raciste" ou "ne pas utiliser la science pour modifier l’homme".

Source : dépêche AFP du 18 nov. 2004.

27 septembre 2012

Croyances religieuses

Partout en Europe, le déclin des croyances religieuses est moins important que celui des pratiques religieuses et du détachement de l’enseignement moral de l’Église catholique, cela parce que (...)

Partout en Europe, le déclin des croyances religieuses est moins important que celui des pratiques religieuses et du détachement de l’enseignement moral de l’Église catholique, cela parce que l’adhésion aux croyances engagerait moins que le rapport aux pratiques. Les croyances semblent survivre presque par inertie culturelle, en tant que partie de la tradition et intériorisées lors de la socialisation primaire, tandis que la pratique et l’éthique demandent plus d’implication et de motivation. Ces tendances émergent seulement en partie dans le cas italien.
La recherche nationale de 2007 indique que la partie de la population qui pense que Dieu n’existe pas (12,8%) ou qui déclare croire seulement à un pouvoir supérieur de nature indéfinie (4,5%) est réduite. La plupart des Italiens acceptent l’idée de Dieu qui domine dans la culture italienne, celle d’un être supérieur qui s’intéresse à chaque être humain. Toutefois, pour une partie de la population, cette croyance n’a pas le caractère de certitude qu’elle avait dans le passé. Ainsi, 12% des Italiens croient en Dieu de façon intermittente selon les moments de la vie, tandis que 25% manifestent une foi marquée par l’incertitude. Par contre, 46% croient en Dieu sans aucun doute.
Dans l’ensemble, plus de 80% des Italiens semblent se retrouver dans l’idée du Dieu du christianisme, même si pour une partie importante d’entre eux cette croyance est marquée par le doute. L’incertitude des références religieuses est un trait culturel émergent, comme on peut le constater en comparant les données sur environ15 ans (tableau 1). Il est intéressant d’observer que ceux qui croient en Dieu (82,6%) sont un peu moins nombreux que ceux qui se disent catholiques (86,1%).

Tableau 1 – Foi dans l’existence de Dieu

ISSP 1991 Enquête 2007
Non croyant 9,4 12,8
foi intermittente 10 11,7
foi mêlée de doute 20,6 25,1
foi dénuée de doute 51,4 45,9
Total 100 (983) 100 (3160)

Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (échantillon de 3160 individus)

Si on analyse le niveau de persistance d’autres croyances religieuse pendant les 30 dernières années, on découvre que la croyance au sujet de l’enfer et du péché reste stable (partagées respectivement par 50% et par 65% de la population), tandis que la croyance au paradis semble moins continue. En tout cas, les Italiens croient plus au paradis qu’à l’enfer, peut-être parce que l’on tend à préférer l’idée de récompense à celle des peines dans l’autre vie. L’aspect le plus important qui ressort de la comparaison entre la croyance au paradis et à l’enfer d’une part, et celle qui concerne la vie après la mort de l’autre, du moins dans les enquêtes les plus récentes (1994 et 2007), c’est que les Italiens qui croient au paradis ou à l’enfer sont beaucoup plus nombreux que ceux qui croient à une vie après la mort. Ces contradictions qui attestent que pour beaucoup d’Italiens, la question des fins dernières est devenue nébuleuse et confuse.

Tableau 2 – Adhésion des non catholiques à d’autres croyances

EVS 1981 ISSP 1991 Enquête 1994* Enquête 2007**
Vie après la mort 57 66,4 45,2 39,8
Enfer 33 4 8,5 52,3 49,7
Ciel 44 58 74,3 63,5
Péché 66 65,7 64,8

* Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (échantillon de 4 500 individus)
** Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), 2007 (échantillon de 3 160 individus)

Source : Franco Garelli, Enzo Pace, Annalisa Frisina, “Portrait du Catholicisme en Italie”, in Alfonso Perez-Agote, Portraits du catholicisme, une comparaison européenne (Presses Universitaires Rennes, 2012). Recherche réalisée dans le cadre du travail du GERICR - Groupe Européen de Recherche Interdisciplinaire sur le Changement Religieux.

27 août 2015