eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Italy » Social and religious data » Religious belonging and religious demography

Religious belonging and religious demography

Religiosity and the Italian youth

A survey on religiosity among young Italians was commissioned by the Centro orientamento pastorale and carried out by Instituto IARD. Conducted in 2004 among 3000 young people aged between 15 to (...)

A survey on religiosity among young Italians was commissioned by the Centro orientamento pastorale and carried out by Instituto IARD.
Conducted in 2004 among 3000 young people aged between 15 to 34 years, the survey revealed that almost 70% of the say that they are Catholic. 75% of this figure are aged 15-17 years, 72% are 30-34 years, with the lowest percentage being among 18-20 year olds (62%).
The highest percentage of Catholics was found in the South of Italy (80%) and the lowest percentage in the regions at the centre (59%).
On the subject of religious practices, 15% of the sample say that they attended Church every week over the previous six months. Furthermore, one out of five young persons prays everyday while one out of four admits to never praying.

See Riccardo Grassi, Giovani, religione e vita quotidiana. Un’indagine dell’Istituto Iard per il Centro di Orientamento Pastorale, Il Mulino, 2006.

D 27 September 2012    AFrançoise Curtit

Religious belonging among immigrants

According to the last Dossier Caritas, by the end of 2003, 49.5% of the total immigrant population in Italy was Christian (2,400,000 foreigners according to the Istituto nazionale di statistica (...)

According to the last Dossier Caritas, by the end of 2003, 49.5% of the total immigrant population in Italy was Christian (2,400,000 foreigners according to the Istituto nazionale di statistica and about 2,800,000 according to Caritas). This is due particularly to the recent increase in Orthodox believers coming from Eastern Europe. Of this figure, 22.6% are Roman Catholic, 20.3% are Orthodox, 4.7% are Protestant and 1.9% are members of other Christian religions.
After Roman Catholicism, Islam represents the second largest religion in the country, being 33% of the foreign population (730,000 persons). Jews represent 0.3% of the foreign population, Hindus 2.4% and Buddhists 1.9%.
The figures may however not be completely accurate – and may even need to be scaled down – for the Orthodox, the Protestants and the Eastern religions. The documents from Cesnur stress that a certain number of immigrants from the Far East say that they do not belong to any religion and that a good number of Chinese immigrants would in fact seem to be Christians. It is also worth keeping in mind that figures provided by the home countries often underestimate the minority religions on their soil. In preparing the official statistics in Italy, the percentage of immigrant believers is calculated based on the estimations in their countries of origin. The official number of Muslims in a country does not necessarily translate to the same number among immigrants in Italy.

Religious belonging is closely linked to the job market, considering particularly the case of "domestic workers". 70% of these workers are Christian (347,000 out of 490,000 female foreigners), followed by 11.4% of Muslim women and only 3.7% of members of the Eastern religions.

D 27 September 2012    AAlessandra Marchi

Religious Minorities

In 2013, one could count in Italy 836 religious and spiritual minorities operating in an organized fashion were counted (CESNUR report). Over the last 10–15 years, the image of minority religions (...)

In 2013, one could count in Italy 836 religious and spiritual minorities operating in an organized fashion were counted (CESNUR report). Over the last 10–15 years, the image of minority religions in Italy has profoundly changed, both from a quantitative point of view and because of the presence of new actors on the national scene. Currently, a sharp increase in religious faiths other than Catholicism can be observed; with the continuous flow of foreign immigrants into Italy (particularly from North Africa and Eastern European countries (see 2013 Statistics), the importance and internal composition of the minority religions present in the country is consequently changing. This concerns primarily Muslims, and secondly, Orthodox Christians immigrating from Eastern Europe, as well as Hindus, Buddhists, followers of the Sikh and Radhasoami religions, a notable Pentecostal, Neo-Pentecostal, and Baptist presence (from China, Korea, the Philippines, and Sub-Saharan Africa), and members of the Coptic Church. If we consider only Italian citizens, including naturalized ones, a percentage of 2.5% of the total resident population profess a non-Catholic religious identity. If we consider all residents within the Italian territory, the percentage of religious minorities increases to 7.6%.

76% of Italians claim to be believers, 15% are atheists and non-believers, 4-5% say they are “searching something”. Out of all the Italians declaring themselves Catholic (79% of the population), 22% define themselves as “convinced and active from a religious point of view”, 32% consider themselves “convinced but not always active”, 35% adhere to Catholicism for traditional or educational reasons, and 7–8% because they share its fundamental ideas even if they interpret them in an autonomous and subjective way (See "Gli Italiani, la religione, la Bibbia").

Jewish 40.000
Historical Protestants 60.000
Pentecostal evangelicals 300.000
Other evangelicals 50.000
Immigrant Evangelicals (Ethnic Churches) 300.000
Orthodox 1.400.000
Jehovah’s Witnesses 400.000
Mormons 25.000
Islam 1.500.000
Hinduists 135.000
Buddhists 100.000
Sikh 30.000
Baha’I 3.000
Total 4.343.000 (tot. Population: 61.482.297)

Source: Brunetto Salvarani, “I (difficili) numeri delle religioni in Italia”, in A. Melloni (ed.), Rapporto sull’analfabetismo religioso, Il Mulino 2014, p. 390.

D 16 July 2015    AMariachiara Giorda

Religious affiliation and practice

The majority of Italians continue to be affiliated to Catholicism, an affiliation that is resisting the test of time and the spread of modernity. For a very long time Catholic identity has (...)

The majority of Italians continue to be affiliated to Catholicism, an affiliation that is resisting the test of time and the spread of modernity. For a very long time Catholic identity has represented a national constant in a country whose history and political culture are too impregnated with faith and tradition for this identity to be relegated to the margins of life in society.
However, during recent decades, changes can be identified in the country which indicate both the presence of a more deeply-rooted religious pluralism and a greater number of people saying that they have no religion (table 1). Mainly as a result of immigration flows from abroad which have recently impacted Italy, those declaring a religious affiliation other than to Catholicism have increased from 0.8% in 1991 to almost 5% in 2007. This growth does not relate to religious minorities historically present on a national level (like Evangelist Protestants, Jews, Jehovah’s Witnesses etc.), but rather the religions of new immigrants (i.e. Orthodox Christianity or Islam), who have rediscovered in their land of adoption a religious identity which is fostering community bonds and backing up their requests for citizenship. In parallel, the number of those claiming no religion has increased slightly: today they account for about 9% of the population.

Table 1 – Italian population by religious belonging, in percent
Comparison between two surveys based on representatives samples of Italian population aged from 16 to 74

Survey 1994* Survey 1997**
Catholic 88,6 86,1
Other religion 2,6 4,8
Reformed 8,8 9.1
Total 100 (4500) 100 (3160)

*Source: Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (échantillon de 4 500 individus).
**Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (sample of individuals)

Even with these changes, affiliation to Catholicism still remains high in Italy, considering that it involves 85% of the population today. However, this religious reference is not socially significant, because it groups together very diverse ways of interpreting the Catholic identity. It can be stated that Italy is characterised by a dual religious pluralism. Alongside pluralism related to the presence of several religions, another type of pluralism can be identified, internal to the Italian Catholic identity. The most recent analyses have taken a look at this phenomenon, by recognising four types of affiliation to Catholicism (table 2): “Catholics by tradition and culture” and those who say they are “committed, but not very active” (each of these types accounts for approximately 30% of the population), while a little less represented are “committed, active Catholics” (more than 1/5 of Italians) and notably “Catholics on their own terms”, who only partially share the religious model of affiliation (approximately 7%). These are very different groups, characterised by specific religious and ethical profiles, who illustrate the pluralism of reference points which characterises Italian Catholicism today. On the other hand, the “no religion” group is pretty homogeneous, characterised by approaches and visions of society typical of those who do not grant any value to the religious dimension and have not had intensive socialisation with the church.

Table 2 – Evolution of Italian catholic population according to the religious membership type, in percent

Membership type of religion Survey 1994* Survey 1997**
Convinced and practising 20,2 21
Convinced but not always practising 36,9 28,8
By tradition, education 24,8 31.6
You share some ideas 8,7 7,5
Other 0,6 2
Without religion 8,8 9,1
Total 100 (4377) 100 (3008)

*Source: Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (sample of 4 500 individus).
**Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (sample of 3 160 individuals)

Taking into consideration the last 10 years (by including in the analysis those with “no religion”), interesting constants and changes in the quantitative evolution of different types of religiosity can be observed. The groups located at the two extremities of the religious field - i.e. “committed, practising Catholics” and those with “no religion” – evolve only slightly; these therefore relate to sufficiently solid subcultures to survive the passing of the years. On the other hand, “committed, practising Catholics” decrease appreciably over the period, whereas the group which identifies with Catholicism for reasons of tradition and culture is experiencing strong growth. In a society which underlines its multi-ethnic and multi-religious character, it seems that the tendency to re-appraise the traditional religion (the requirement to be rooted in a history and culture able to offer security and reference points when faced with innovations) is on the increase among Italians. Within this group are to be found not only those who declare themselves to be Catholic by virtue of tradition, rather than personal conviction, i.e. for cultural and symbolic reasons, than for specifically spiritual reasons; but this also includes all those who identify with a “religion of values” of which religious groups as well as the Catholic Church itself can claim to be the representatives, in order to counter the crisis in ethical reference points and to reaffirm values which cannot be renounced. These forms of affiliation to Catholicism seem pretty much in line with the values of religious groups, even if they do not automatically imply acceptance of the dogma.
It is therefore easy to state that Catholic sentiment is being enriched by new forms of affiliation, the majority of which were previously unknown. Compared to other national contexts, in Italy we can record fewer attitudes of “faith without religious affiliation” (expression of an autonomous spiritual quest, which makes no mention – not even critically – of a religious group or a church) and more attitudes of affiliation to Catholicism without strong religious participation.

D 27 August 2015    AMariachiara Giorda

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Italie > Données socio-religieuses > Appartenance et démographie religieuses

Appartenance et démographie religieuses

La religiosité des jeunes Italiens

L’istituto IARD a réalisé une enquête sur la religiosité des jeunes Italiens à la demande du Centro orientamento pastorale. Réalisé en 2004 auprès de 3000 jeunes de 15 à 34 ans, ce sondage révèle que près (...)

L’istituto IARD a réalisé une enquête sur la religiosité des jeunes Italiens à la demande du Centro orientamento pastorale.
Réalisé en 2004 auprès de 3000 jeunes de 15 à 34 ans, ce sondage révèle que près de 70% d’entre eux se déclarent catholiques, soit 75% des 15-17 ans, 72% des 30-34 ans, le pourcentage le plus bas étant enregistré chez les 18-20 ans (62%).
C’est dans les régions du sud de l’Italie qu’est enregistré le plus haut pourcentage de catholiques (80%), le plus bas correspondant aux régions du centre (59%).
Concernant leurs pratiques religieuse, 15% des 15-34 ans déclarent avoir assisté à un office religieux toutes les semaines au cours des six derniers mois. Par ailleurs, un jeune sur cinq prie tous les jours alors qu’un jeune sur quatre déclare ne jamais prier.

Voir Riccardo Grassi, Giovani, religione e vita quotidiana. Un’indagine dell’Istituto Iard per il Centro di Orientamento Pastorale, Il Mulino, 2006.

27 septembre 2012

L’appartenance religieuse des immigrés

Le dernier Dossier Caritas estime qu’à la fin de l’année 2003, les chrétiens représentent 49,5% du total de la population immigrée présente en Italie (2.400.000 étrangers selon l’Istituto nazionale di (...)

Le dernier Dossier Caritas estime qu’à la fin de l’année 2003, les chrétiens représentent 49,5% du total de la population immigrée présente en Italie (2.400.000 étrangers selon l’Istituto nazionale di statistica et 2.800.000 environ selon la Caritas), notamment grâce à la récente augmentation des orthodoxes venant de l’Europe de l’Est. Ce pourcentage est ainsi reparti : 22,6% sont catholiques ; 20,3% orthodoxes ; 4,7% protestants ; 1,9% sont membres d’autres religions chrétiennes.
L’islam représente la deuxième religion du pays après le catholicisme, avec un pourcentage de 33% de la population étrangère (730.000 individus) ; les juifs en représentent 0,3% ; les hindouistes 2,4% ; les bouddhistes 1,9%.
Mais, il se peut que ces données soient à corriger – voire à minorer – pour les orthodoxes, les protestants et aussi pour les membres des religions orientales. Dans les documents du Cesnur on souligne en effet qu’un certain nombre des immigrés d’Extrême-Orient se déclare sans appartenance religieuse, et un bon nombre des Chinois seraient en fait chrétiens. Il ne faut pas oublier également que les chiffres fournis par les pays d’origine sous-estiment souvent les minorités religieuses présentes sur leur territoire. Dans l’élaboration des statistiques officielles en Italie, le pourcentage des croyants immigrés est calculé sur le pourcentage estimé dans leur pays d’origine. Le pourcentage officiel des musulmans d’un pays ne se traduit cependant pas nécessairement par le même pourcentage parmi les immigrés en Italie.

L’appartenance religieuse est étroitement liée au marché du travail, si on pense en particulier au cas des « collaboratrices domestiques », dont 70% environ sont de foi chrétienne (347.000 sur 490.000 femmes étrangères), suivies de 11,4% de musulmanes et seulement 3,7% d’adhérentes aux religions orientales.

27 septembre 2012

Les minorités religieuses

En 2013, l’Italie comptait 836 minorités religieuses et spirituelles fonctionnant de manière organisée (rapport CESNUR). Au cours des dix-quinze dernières années, l’image des minorités religieuses a (...)

En 2013, l’Italie comptait 836 minorités religieuses et spirituelles fonctionnant de manière organisée (rapport CESNUR). Au cours des dix-quinze dernières années, l’image des minorités religieuses a changé profondément en Italie du point de vue du nombre et en raison de la présence de nouveaux acteurs sur la scène nationale. Les confessions autres que le catholicisme connaissent actuellement une forte hausse ; le flot ininterrompu d’immigrants, déferlant en Italie, notamment en provenance des pays d’Afrique du Nord et d’Europe de l’Est (voir statistiques 2013), contribue à modifier en conséquence l’importance et la composition interne des minorités religieuses du pays. Ceci concerne essentiellement les musulmans mais également les chrétiens orthodoxes qui sont arrivés d’Europe de l’Est, de même que les hindous, les bouddhistes, les adeptes de la religion sikh et du mouvement radha soami, une présence notable pentecôtiste, néo-pentecôtiste et baptiste (de Chine, de Corée, des Philippines, et de l’Afrique subsaharienne), et des membres de l’Eglise copte. Si l’on considère uniquement les citoyens italiens, y compris les citoyens naturalisés, 2,5 % de la population résidente totale déclare une identité religieuse non catholique. Le pourcentage des minorités religieuses augmente à 7,6 % lorsque l’ensemble des résidents du territoire italien est pris en compte.

76 % des Italiens affirment être croyants, 15 % sont athées et non-croyants, 4 à 5 % déclarent « être à la recherche de quelque chose ». Parmi l’ensemble des Italiens se déclarant eux-mêmes catholiques (79 % de la population), 22 % se définissent comme « convaincus et actifs d’un point de vue religieux », 32 % se considèrent comme « convaincus mais pas toujours actifs », 35 % adhèrent au catholicisme pour des raisons de tradition ou d’éducation et 7 à 8 % y adhèrent car ils s’identifient aux idées fondamentales du catholicisme, même s’ils les interprètent d’une manière autonome et subjective (voir « Gli Italiani, la religione, la Bibbia »).

Juifs 40 000
Protestants historiques 60 000
Pentecôtistesl évangeliques 300 000
Autres évangeliques 50 000
Evangeliques immigrants (Eglises éthniques) 300 000
Orthodoxes 1 400 000
Témoins de Jehovahs 400 000
Mormons 25 000
Musulmans 1 500 000
Hindouistes 135 000
Bouddhistes 100 000
Sikhs 30 000
Baha’is 3 000
Total 4 343 000 (tot. Population : 61 482 297)

Source : Brunetto Salvarani, “I (difficili) numeri delle religioni in Italia”, in A. Melloni (ed.), Rapporto sull’analfabetismo religioso, Il Mulino 2014, p. 390.

16 juillet 2015

Appartenance et pratique religieuses

L’appartenance au catholicisme de la plupart des Italiens semble résister à l’épreuve du temps et des progrès de la modernité. Depuis très longtemps, l’identité catholique représente une constante (...)

L’appartenance au catholicisme de la plupart des Italiens semble résister à l’épreuve du temps et des progrès de la modernité. Depuis très longtemps, l’identité catholique représente une constante nationale, dans un pays dont l’histoire et la culture politique sont trop imprégnées de foi et de tradition pour qu’elle puisse être repoussée aux marges de la vie sociale.
Toutefois, au cours des dernières décennies, on relève sur ce point des changements dans le pays, qui signalent à la fois la présence d’un pluralisme religieux plus enraciné et d’un nombre plus élevé de personnes qui se disent sans religion (tab. 1). Principalement en tant que résultat des flux d’immigration étrangère qui ont récemment touché l’Italie, ceux qui déclarent une appartenance religieuse autre que catholique sont passés de 0.8% en 1991 à presque 5% en 2007. Cette croissance ne concerne pas les minorités religieuses historiquement présentes sur la scène nationale (comme les protestants évangéliques, les juifs, les témoins de Jéhovah, etc.), mais plutôt les religions des nouveaux immigrés (c’est-à-dire le christianisme orthodoxe ou l’islam), qui ont redécouvert dans leur terre d’adoption une identité religieuse qui alimente le lien communautaire et appuie la demande de citoyenneté. Parallèlement, le nombre de ceux qui se déclarent sans religion a légèrement augmenté : ils représentent aujourd’hui à peu près 9% de la population.

Tableau 1 – Population italienne par religion d’appartenance, en pourcentage Comparaison entre deux relevés réalisés auprès d’échantillons représentatifs de la population italienne entre 16 et 74 ans

Enquête 1994* Enquête 1997**
Catholique 88,6 86,1
Autre religion 2,6 4,8
Réformés 8,8 9.1
Total 100 (4500) 100 (3160)

*Source : Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (échantillon de 4 500 individus).
**Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (échantillon de 3 160 individus)

Même avec ces changements, l’appartenance au catholicisme reste encore élevée en Italie, vu qu’elle concerne aujourd’hui 85% de la population. Cependant, cette référence religieuse n’est pas socialement significative, car elle regroupe des façons très diverses d’interpréter l’identité catholique. On peut affirmer que l’Italie est caractérisée par un double pluralisme religieux. À coté du pluralisme lié à la présence de plusieurs religions, on peut isoler un autre type de pluralisme, interne à l’identité catholique italienne. Les analyses les plus récentes ont porté un regard attentif à ce phénomène, en reconnaissant quatre types d’adhésion au catholicisme (tab. 2) : les « catholiques par tradition et culture » et ceux qui se disent « convaincus mais pas trop actifs » (chacun de ces types représente environ 30% de la population), tandis que sont un peu moins représentés les « catholiques convaincus et actifs » (plus du 1/5 des Italiens) et surtout les « catholiques à sa façon », qui ne partagent que partiellement le modèle religieux d’appartenance (environ 7%). Il s’agit de groupes très différents, qui se caractérisent par des profils religieux et éthiques spécifiques, et illustrent le pluralisme des repères qui caractérise aujourd’hui le catholicisme italien. A l’inverse, le groupe des « sans religion » est assez homogène, et se caractérise par des orientations et des visions de la société typiques de ceux qui n’accordent aucune valeur à la dimension religieuse et n’ont pas eu une socialisation écclésiale intensive.

Tableau 2 – Évolution de la population italienne catholique selon le type d’adhésion religieuse en pourcentage

Type d’adhésion à la religion Enquête 1994* Enquête 1997**
convaincu et pratiquant 20,2 21
Convaincu mais pas toujours pratiquant 36,9 28,8
Par tradition, éducation 24,8 31.6
Vous en partagez quelques idées 8,7 7,5
Autre 0,6 2
Sans religion 8,8 9,1
Total 100 (4377) 100 (3008)

*Source : Vincenzo Cesareo, Roberto Cipriani, Franco Garelli, Clemente Lanzetti, Giancarlo Rovati, La religiosità in Italia, Mondadori, Milano, 1995 (échantillon de 4 500 individus).
**Source : Indagine sulla nuova religiosità in Italia, Apsor (Associazione piemontese di sociologia delle religioni), Torino, 2007 (échantillon de 3 160 individus)

Si l’on considère les dix dernières années (en incluant dans l’analyse les « sans religion »), on peut observer des persistances et des changements intéressants dans l’évolution quantitative des différents types de religiosité. Les groupes placés aux deux extrémités du champ religieux – c’est-à-dire les « catholiques convaincus et pratiquants » et les « sans religion » – n’évoluent que peu ; il s’agit donc de sous-cultures suffisamment solides pour se perpétuer au fil des années. Par contre, les « catholiques convaincus et pratiquants » diminuent sensiblement au cours de la période, tandis que du groupe qui s’identifie au catholicisme pour des raisons de tradition et de culture connaît une forte croissance. Dans une société qui souligne son caractère multiethnique et multireligieux, il semble donc que la tendance à la réévaluation de la religion traditionnelle, en tant qu’exigence d’enracinement dans une histoire et une culture capables d’offrir sécurité et repères face aux nouveautés, soit en augmentation chez les Italiens. À l’intérieur de ce groupe, on retrouve non seulement ceux qui se déclarent catholiques en vertu de la tradition plutôt que de leur conviction personnelle, donc pour des raisons culturelles et symboliques plutôt que pour des raisons spécifiquement spirituelles, mais aussi tous ceux qui s’identifient à une « religion des valeurs » dont les groupes religieux et l’Église catholique elle-même peuvent se présenter comme les représentants, pour contrer la crise des repères éthiques, pour réaffirmer les valeurs auxquelles on ne peut pas renoncer. Ces formes d’adhésion au catholicisme semblent plutôt en accord avec les valeurs des groupes religieux, même si elles n’impliquent pas automatiquement l’acceptation des dogmes.
On peut donc facilement constater que le sentiment catholique s’enrichit de nouvelles formes d’appartenance, pour la plupart auparavant inconnues. Par rapport à d’autres contextes nationaux, on enregistre en Italie moins d’attitudes de « foi sans appartenance religieuse » (expression d’une recherche spirituelle autonome, qui fait abstraction – même pour des raisons de critique – de la référence à un groupe religieux ou à une Église), et plus d’attitudes d’appartenance au catholicisme sans participation religieuse forte.

27 août 2015