eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Canada » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Freedom of religion in Canada

The History of Religious Freedom Historically, freedom of religion was recognized for Catholics as early as the Treaty of Paris of February 10, 1763, and the Quebec Act of June 22, 1774, which (...)

The History of Religious Freedom
Historically, freedom of religion was recognized for Catholics as early as the Treaty of Paris of February 10, 1763, and the Quebec Act of June 22, 1774, which also reaffirmed it. The oath to which Catholics must consent in order to hold public office (allegiance to British and Anglican power, known as the "oath of the Test") was abolished. The Constitutional Act of 1791 reaffirmed the freedom of religion of Catholics and truly began the process of institutional separation between religious and political powers in Canada. Political neutrality was enshrined in nineteenth-century Canada even though the Constitution Act, 1867 was silent on this aspect.

Constitutionalization of Freedom of Religion
Since 1982, freedom of religion has been protected under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in section 2. Adopted on April 17, 1982, the Charter is Part 1 of the Constitution Act, 1982 and has normative priority within the Canadian legal system. This priority involves two important aspects. First, there is a complex and cumbersome procedure for amending the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, detailed in sections 38 to 49, which ensures the continuity and stability of the constitutional text. Second, the Charter, as part of the Constitution of Canada, is considered the supreme law of Canada and "renders inoperative any law that is inconsistent with any other law" (section 52). Thus, any regulation, code or law that violates freedom of religion as defined by the Supreme Court of Canada will be declared of no force and effect.

Jurisprudential recognition of freedom of religion
Canadian public law is administered according to the common law legal tradition, in which case law plays a predominant role. The Supreme Court of Canada first interpreted freedom of religion in 1985 in R v. Big M Drug Mart Ltd. In that case, Big M Drug Mart, a retail business in the city of Calgary in the province of Alberta, was charged with violating the Lord’s Day Act because it operated on Sundays contrary to the provisions of the Lord’s Day Act. The company challenged the validity of the Lord’s Day Act on the grounds that it infringed the freedom of religion guaranteed by the Charter. The Court agreed with the company and declared the entire Lord’s Day Act inoperative.

The Two Dimensions of Religious Freedom
In Big M, the Court interpreted freedom of religion as follows in paragraph 94:

The essence of the concept of freedom of religion is the right to entertain such religious beliefs as a person chooses, the right to declare religious beliefs openly and without fear of hindrance or reprisal, and the right to manifest religious belief by worship and practice or by teaching and dissemination.

Thus, there are generally two dimensions to freedom of religion in Canadian law. A positive dimension is the protection against changing one’s religion and believing what one wants in religious matters, and a "negative" dimension is the protection against coercion or duress.

D 20 June 2017    ABertrand Lavoie

Reasonable accommodation

Reasonable Accommodation in Canada Reasonable accommodation is a legal solution aimed at correcting discrimination arising from a practice or standard within a public or private enterprise. It is (...)

Reasonable Accommodation in Canada
Reasonable accommodation is a legal solution aimed at correcting discrimination arising from a practice or standard within a public or private enterprise. It is based on the principle of equality among citizens, with the goal of respecting differences. It requires institutions, organizations and individuals to change standards, practices or policies (Moeirin decision [1999], para. 68).

The Legal Duty of Reasonable Accommodation
Reasonable accommodation became a legal obligation following a jurisprudential interpretation proposed by the Supreme Court of Canada in the Simpsons-Sears decision in 1985. In this case, an employee challenged her employer’s decision to require her to work on Saturdays, under threat of dismissal, when her religion prescribed a day of rest on Saturdays. The Court concluded that the employer had a duty to try to reasonably accommodate her, that is, to ensure that the employee’s religious needs were respected, in particular by proposing a rearrangement of the work schedule.

Foundations and Limitations of Reasonable Accommodation
The right to equality is the primary legal basis for reasonable accommodation under section 15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It prohibits discrimination, that is, a disadvantageous distinction, exclusion or preference for certain persons, based on one or more of the grounds set out in section 15 of the Canadian Charter (e.g. religion). The onus is then on the incumbent decision-maker to accommodate the person(s) for whom the adverse effects of the practice or standard have been demonstrated. It should be noted that this legal solution is limited by the concept of undue hardship (Renaud [1992] 984), which may refer, among other things, to the excessive cost of accommodation, interference with the proper functioning of the organization, or harm to the safety or rights of others. These criteria, which are not exhaustive, must be applied "flexibly and in a manner consistent with common sense" (Bergevin [1994], p. 546) and may thus be used to deny a request for accommodation.

Quebec Context and Public Debate
In 2006, in the Multani decision, the Supreme Court of Canada recognized that a public school in the Montreal area, in the province of Quebec, had a duty to reasonably accommodate a young Sikh student’s right to wear his kirpan to school under certain conditions, not without raising important questions in the Quebec population. Following the controversy generated by this decision, the Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d’accommodement reliées aux différences culturelles was created (also called the Bouchard-Taylor Commission). More recently, in 2012, the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse du Québec developed a virtual guide, which details the procedures to follow, for a public or private manager, in order to respond to a request for accommodation.

Sources :
- Bosset, P. (2007) « Les fondements juridiques et l’évolution de l’obligation d’accommodement raisonnable », in Jézéquel, M. (ed.) Les accommodements raisonnables: quoi, comment, jusqu’où? Des outils pour tous. Yvon Blais. Cowansville, pp. 3–28 ;
- Bosset, P. (2009) « Accommodement raisonnable et égalité des sexes: tensions, contradictions et interdépendance », in Eid, P. et al. (eds) Appartenances religieuses, appartenance citoyenne. Un équilibre en tension. Québec: Presses de l’Université Laval, pp. 181–206 ;
- Imbeault, J.-S. et al. (2012) Guide virtuel. Traitement d’une demande d’accommodement. Montréal: Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse du Québec ;
- Lefebvre, S. (2008) « Les dimensions socioreligieuses des débats sur les accommodements raisonnables », in McAndrew, M. et al. (eds) L’accommodement raisonnable et la diversité religieuse à l’école publique. Normes et pratiques. Montréal: Fides, pp. 113–133 ;
- Maclure, J. (2009) « Convictions de conscience, responsabilité individuelle et équité: l’obligation d’accommodement est-elle équitable?», in Eid, P. et al. (eds) Appartenances religieuses, appartenance citoyenne. Un équilibre en tension. Québec: Presses de l’Université Laval, pp. 327–350 ;
- Woehrling, J. (1997) « L’obligation d’accommodement raisonnable et l’adaptation de la société à la diversité religieuse », Revue de droit McGill, 43, pp. 326–401.

D 5 June 2018    ABertrand Lavoie

Act Respecting the Laicity of the State

The Act
On June 16, 2019, the National Assembly of Quebec adopted the Act Respecting the Laicity of the State, which proclaims that the State of Quebec is a lay State (s. 1). According to the (...)

The Act

On June 16, 2019, the National Assembly of Quebec adopted the Act Respecting the Laicity of the State, which proclaims that the State of Quebec is a lay State (s. 1). According to the Act, the laicity of the State is based on four (4) principles: (1) the separation of the State and religions; (2) the religious neutrality of the State; (3) the equality of all citizens; and (4) freedom of conscience and freedom of religion (s. 2). The Act provides for a prohibition on wearing a religious symbols for certain categories of public officials, including teachers and directors of public primary and secondary schools, police officers and several public officials exercising a legal profession (see Schedule II of the Act), except for those who were employed in the relevant functions on or before 27 March 2019. According to the Act, a religious symbol is "any object, including clothing, symbol, jewellery, an adornment, an accessory or headwear, that is (1) worn in connection with a religious conviction or belief, or (2) reasonably considered to refer to a religious affiliation" (s. 6). Also, the Act specifies in s. 8, that government employees must exercise their functions with their face uncovered, as must a person who presents themselves to receive a public service, except for reasons of health, disability, or the requirements tied to their function. Also, the Act makes two (2) changes of a constitutional nature to the Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms, by inserting in the preamble, the following sentence: "Whereas the Québec nation considers State laicity to be of fundamental importance," and by inserting laicity as a condition for the exercise of fundamental freedoms and rights (s. 9 of the Charter).

See also: Current debate: "June 2019 - Secularism Act".

D 29 May 2020    ABertrand Lavoie

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Canada > Droit et religion > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

La liberté de religion au Canada

L’historique de la liberté de religion
Historiquement, la liberté de religion est reconnue dès le traité de Paris du 10 février 1763 et l’Acte de Québec du 22 juin 1774 le réaffirmant également. Le (...)

L’historique de la liberté de religion

Historiquement, la liberté de religion est reconnue dès le traité de Paris du 10 février 1763 et l’Acte de Québec du 22 juin 1774 le réaffirmant également. Le serment auquel les catholiques doivent consentir afin d’exercer des charges publiques (allégeance au pouvoir britannique et anglican appelée "serment du Test") y est aboli. L’Acte constitutionnel de 1791 réaffirme la liberté de religion des catholiques et amorce véritablement le processus de distanciation institutionnelle entre les pouvoirs religieux et politiques au Canada. Une neutralité politique est consacrée de fait dans le Canada du XIXe siècle même si la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 reste silencieuse sur cet aspect.

La constitutionnalisation de la liberté de religion

La liberté de religion n’est entrée dans la Constitution que depuis 1982, où elle est protégée en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés à l’article 2. Adoptée le 17 avril 1982, la Charte représente la partie 1 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et a une priorité normative au sein du système juridique canadien. Cette priorité implique deux aspects importants. D’abord, cette Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ne peut être modifiée que par une procédure complexe et lourde, détaillée aux articles 38 à 49, qui assure la continuité et la stabilité du texte constitutionnel. Ensuite, la Charte, en étant une partie de la Constitution du Canada, est considérée comme la loi suprême du Canada et "rend inopérantes les dispositions incompatibles de toute autre règle de droit" (article 52). Ainsi, tout règlement, code ou loi qui enfreint la liberté de religion telle que définie par la Cour suprême du Canada sera déclaré inopérant.

La reconnaissance jurisprudentielle de la liberté de religion

Le droit public canadien relève de la tradition juridique de la common law, où la jurisprudence joue un rôle prépondérant. C’est dans l’arrêt R c. Big M Drug Mart Ltd de 1985 que la Cour suprême du Canada a pour la première fois interprété la liberté de religion. Dans cette affaire, la compagnie Big M Drug Mart, un commerce de détail de la ville de Calgary dans la province de l’Alberta, a été accusée d’avoir enfreint la Loi sur le dimanche en poursuivant ses activités le dimanche contrairement aux dispositions prévues dans cette loi. La compagnie a contesté la validité de la Loi sur le dimanche au motif qu’elle porterait atteinte à la liberté de religion garantie par la Charte. La Cour a donné raison à la compagnie et a déclaré inopérante l’ensemble de la Loi sur le dimanche.

Les deux dimensions de la liberté de religion

Dans cet arrêt Big M., la Cour a interprété la liberté de religion de la manière suivante, au paragraphe 94 :

"Le concept de la liberté de religion se définit essentiellement comme le droit de croire ce que l’on veut en matière religieuse, le droit de professer ouvertement des croyances religieuses sans crainte d’empêchement ou de représailles et le droit de manifester ses croyances religieuses par leur mise en pratique et par le culte ou par leur enseignement et leur propagation."

Ainsi, on distingue généralement deux dimensions à la liberté de religion en droit canadien. Une dimension positive, soit la protection concernant la possibilité de changer de religion et de croire ce que l’on veut en matière religieuse, et une dimension dite "négative", soit la protection contre la coercition ou la contrainte.

20 juin 2017

Accommodement raisonnable

La notion d’accommodement raisonnable est en usage, dans le monde juridique anglo-saxon surtout, depuis plusieurs décennies. Certaines décisions juridiques et certains débats publics canadiens l’ont (...)

La notion d’accommodement raisonnable est en usage, dans le monde juridique anglo-saxon surtout, depuis plusieurs décennies. Certaines décisions juridiques et certains débats publics canadiens l’ont rendue célèbre en particulier dans ce contexte national, notamment au Québec.

L’accommodement raisonnable au Canada
L’accommodement raisonnable est une solution juridique ayant pour but de corriger la discrimination provenant d’une pratique ou d’une norme au sein d’une entreprise publique ou privée. Il est fondé sur le principe d’égalité entre les citoyens, dans le but de respecter les différences. Il oblige des institutions, des organisations et des personnes à modifier des normes, des pratiques ou des politiques (arrêt Moeirin [1999], par. 68).

L’obligation juridique de l’accommodement raisonnable
L’accommodement raisonnable est devenu une obligation juridique à la suite d’une interprétation jurisprudentielle proposée par la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’arrêt Simpsons-Sears en 1985. Dans cet arrêt, une employée conteste la décision de son employeur de l’obliger à travailler le samedi, sous peine de licenciement, alors que sa religion lui prescrivait un jour de repos le samedi. La Cour conclut alors que l’employeur avait une obligation de tenter de l’accommoder raisonnablement, c’est-à-dire de faire en sorte que les besoins religieux de son employée soient respectés, en proposant notamment un aménagement de l’horaire de travail.

Fondements et limites de l’accommodement raisonnable
Le droit à l’égalité est le principal fondement juridique de l’accommodement raisonnable, prévu à l’art. 15 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Celui-ci proscrit la présence de discrimination, c’est-à-dire une distinction désavantageuse, une exclusion ou une préférence pour certaines personnes, sur la base d’un ou plusieurs des motifs prévus à l’article 15 de la Charte canadienne (par ex. la religion). Il incombe alors au décideur en place d’accommoder la ou les personnes pour qui les effets préjudiciables de la pratique ou de la norme ont été démontrés. Il convient de souligner que cette solution juridique est limitée par la notion de contrainte excessive (arrêt Renaud [1992], p. 984), qui peut renvoyer, notamment, au coût excessif de l’accommodement, à l’entrave au bon fonctionnement de l’organisation ou à l’atteinte à la sécurité ou au droit d’autrui. Ces critères, non exhaustifs, doivent être appliqués « d’une manière souple et conforme au bon sens » (arrêt Bergevin [1994], p. 546) et peuvent être ainsi invoqués afin de refuser une demande d’accommodement.

Contexte québécois et débats publics

En 2006, dans l’arrêt Multani, la Cour suprême du Canada a reconnu qu’une école publique de la région de Montréal, dans la province de Québec, avait une obligation d’accommodement raisonnable concernant le droit, pour un jeune étudiant sikh, de porter son kirpan à l’école à certaines conditions, ce qui n’a pas été sans soulever des interrogations importantes dans la population québécoise. À la suite de la controverse suscitée par cette décision, la Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d’accommodement reliées aux différences culturelles (aussi appelée la Commission Bouchard-Taylor) a été créée. Plus récemment, en 2012, la Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse du Québec a élaboré un guide virtuel qui détaille la procédure à suivre, pour un gestionnaire public ou privé, afin de répondre à une demande d’accommodement.

Sources :
- Bosset, P. (2007) « Les fondements juridiques et l’évolution de l’obligation d’accommodement raisonnable », in Jézéquel, M. (ed.) Les accommodements raisonnables : quoi, comment, jusqu’où ? Des outils pour tous. Yvon Blais. Cowansville, pp. 3–28 ;
- Bosset, P. (2009) « Accommodement raisonnable et égalité des sexes : tensions, contradictions et interdépendance », in Eid, P. et al. (eds) Appartenances religieuses, appartenance citoyenne. Un équilibre en tension. Québec : Presses de l’Université Laval, pp. 181–206 ;
- Imbeault, J.-S. et al. (2012) Guide virtuel. Traitement d’une demande d’accommodement. Montréal : Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse du Québec ;
- Lefebvre, S. (2008) « Les dimensions socioreligieuses des débats sur les accommodements raisonnables », in McAndrew, M. et al. (eds) L’accommodement raisonnable et la diversité religieuse à l’école publique. Normes et pratiques. Montréal : Fides, pp. 113–133 ;
- Maclure, J. (2009) « Convictions de conscience, responsabilité individuelle et équité : l’obligation d’accommodement est-elle équitable ? », in Eid, P. et al. (eds) Appartenances religieuses, appartenance citoyenne. Un équilibre en tension. Québec : Presses de l’Université Laval, pp. 327–350 ;
- Woehrling, J. (1997) « L’obligation d’accommodement raisonnable et l’adaptation de la société à la diversité religieuse », Revue de droit McGill, 43, pp. 326–401.

5 juin 2018