eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Romania » Law and religion » Provisions » Workplace

Workplace

Religions in the workplace in Romania

In a general sense, religious freedom in the field of labour relations is regulated, and fundamental rights guaranteed, by the Romanian constitution, the law on religious freedom and the general (...)

In a general sense, religious freedom in the field of labour relations is regulated, and fundamental rights guaranteed, by the Romanian constitution, the law on religious freedom and the general system for religious faiths, and the ordinance on preventing and tackling of all forms of discrimination. The religious rights of employees and the labour relations of religious ministers are specifically regulated by the Labour Code and the third section of the law on religious freedom and the general system for religious faiths (see below for a list of all these provisions).

The Labour Code states that "any direct or indirect discrimination against an employee based on [...] religion is prohibited". Among the aspects of employment that are specifically protected against religious discrimination are redundancy and conversion of the workforce to salaried work. The Labour Code also guarantees the same number of holidays associated with religious celebrations for members of all recognised religious faiths, whether Christian or non-Christian.

As regards religious staff, according to Article 23 of Law 489/2006 on religious freedom and the general system for religious faiths "religious bodies shall choose, appoint, hire or dismiss their staff in accordance with their own statutes, canonical codes or regulations". Therefore, relations between religious faiths and their staff are based on the provisions of the faiths’ own statutes and not on the legal rules imposed by the Labour Code. With the exception of one religious body, which uses the individual employment contract for its staff, the employees of all the other 17 recognised religious faiths have a relationship with their "employers" that involves providing services free-of-charge as a vocation, usually based on a confession of faith they are obliged to sign.

As regards religious staff who work in other institutions (hospitals, prisons, schools, etc.), the specific regulations of these institutions apply, but it is still necessary for the religious staff to obtain the consent of the religious body to which they belong in order to work in such institutions. In the event of serious violations of moral or religious doctrine, the religious body may withdraw its consent, which leads to cessation of such work. This is proof that legislators recognize the supremacy of faith-specific rules over labour law standards.

The most well-known case in which this state of affairs was challenged took place in 2008, when several priests and laymen from the Metropolis of Oltenia (Romanian Orthodox Church) decided to establish the Good Shepherd Union. The Romanian courts refused to register the Union because the concept of unions is alien to the status of the Church and violates the principle of ecclesiastical autonomy. Dissatisfied with these resolutions, the trade unionists brought the case to the ECHR, claiming a violation Article 11 of the European Convention on Human Rights on the freedom of association. Although the trade unionist priests prevailed in the first stage of proceedings, the Grand Chamber of the ECHR ultimately ruled in favour of the Romanian state and by default the Romanian Orthodox Church. In its decision (Case of Sindicatul "Păstorul cel bun" v. Romania), the ECHR confirmed that the professional specificities of the priesthood are incompatible with trade union action because the priesthood is a freely assumed vocation that the Church entrusts to those who have heeded its call.

A. The main laws that guarantee religious freedom in Romania:

1. Constitution of Romania (21 November 1991, amended in 2003), Art. 29.
2. Law 489/2006 on religious freedom and the general system for religious faiths, Articles 1 and 2.
3. Ordinance 137/31, August 2000 (with subsequent amendments) on preventing and tackling all forms of discrimination (with subsequent amendments).

B. Legal provisions relating to work and religion:

Labour Code (Law 53/24 January 2003 with subsequent amendments)
Article 5
(1) Within labour relations, the principle of equal treatment for all employees and employers is guaranteed.
(2) Any direct or indirect discrimination against an employee based on gender, sexual orientation, genetic characteristics, age, nationality, race, colour, religion, political opinion, social origin, disability, family status or responsibility, union membership or activity is prohibited.

Article 59
The dismissal of employees shall be prohibited: (a) based on gender, sexual orientation, genetic characteristics, age, nationality, race, colour, religion, political opinion, social origin, disability, family status or responsibility, trade union membership or activity.

Article 139
(1) Public holidays:
- 1 and 2 January – New Year
- 24 January – United Principalities Day
- first and second day of Easter
- 1 May – International Labour Day
- 1 June – International Children’s Day
- first and second day of Pentecost
- Assumption Day
- 30 November – Saint Andrew’s Day
- 1 December – Romanian National Day
- first and second day of Christmas
(2) two days for each of the three annual religious holidays, declared as such by the recognised religious faiths, other than Christian holidays, for persons belonging to these faiths.

Article 159 (3)
For the establishment and payment of wages, discrimination based on gender, sexual orientation, genetic characteristics, age, nationality, race, colour, religion, political opinion, social origin, disability, family status or responsibility, trade union membership or activity is prohibited.

C. Religious ministers and labour law:

Law 489/2006 on religious freedom and the general system for religious faiths, Articles 23 to 26.

For more information on clergy labour relations see Emanuel Tăvală, "Law and religion in the workplace: Romanian Report", in RODRÍGUEZ BLANCO Miguel (ed.), Law and religion in the workplace, Proceedings of the XXVIIth annual conference of the European Consortium for Church and State Research, Alcalá de Henares, 12-15 November 2015, Granada, Comares, December 2016, p. 327-336.

D 22 February 2017    AGabriel Birsan

Non-Christian workers and days off

D 8 January 2019   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Roumanie > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Travail

Travail

Travail et religion en Roumanie

La liberté religieuse dans le domaine des relations de travail est réglementée d’une manière générale, en garantissant les droits fondamentaux, par la Constitution de la Roumanie, la loi sur la liberté religieuse et le régime général des cultes et l’ordonnance sur la prévention et la répression de toutes les formes de discrimination. Les droits religieux des employés et les relations de travail des ministres des cultes sont particulièrement règlementés par le Code du travail et la troisième section de la loi sur la liberté religieuse et le régime général des cultes (voir ci-dessous toutes ces dispositions détaillées).

Le Code du travail prévoit que "toute discrimination directe ou indirecte contre un employé, basée sur […] la religion, est interdite". Parmi les aspects de l’emploi qui sont précisément protégés contre la discrimination religieuse on distingue le licenciement et la salarisation. Le Code du travail garantit aussi le même nombre de jours fériés connexes aux fêtes religieuses pour les membres de tous les cultes religieux reconnues, chrétiennes ou non-chrétiennes.

Concernant le personnel des cultes, selon l’article 23 de la loi 489/2006 sur la liberté religieuse et le régime général des cultes, "les cultes choisissent, nomment, engagent ou révoquent leur personnel conformément à leurs propres statuts, codes canoniques ou règlements". Dès lors, les relations entre les cultes religieux et leur personnel se construisent sur les dispositions des propres statuts des cultes et non sur les règles juridiques imposées par le Code du travail. A l’exception d’un seul culte, qui utilise pour son personnel le contrat individuel de travail, les employés de tous les autres 17 cultes religieux reconnues ont une relation de service gratuit et mission assumée avec leurs "employeurs", basée le plus souvent sur une confession de foi qu’ils sont obligés de signer.

Dans le cas du personnel du culte qui travaille dans des autres institutions (hôpitaux, prisons, écoles etc.) s’applique les règlements propres de ces institutions, mais il est toujours nécessaire que le personnel du culte reçoive le consentement du culte auquel il appartient pour travailler dans ces institutions. En cas de violations graves de la doctrine morale ou du culte, le culte religieux peut retirer son consentement, ce qui conduit à la cessation de l’activité. Ceci est la preuve que le législateur reconnaît la suprématie des règles spécifiques des cultes sur les normes du droit du travail.

Le cas le plus connu dans lequel cet état de choses a été contesté a eu lieu en 2008 quand plusieurs prêtres et laïcs de la Métropolie d’Olténie (Église Orthodoxe Roumaine) ont décidé d’établir l’Union le Bon Pasteur. Les tribunaux roumains ont refusé d’enregistrer l’Union parce que le concept d’union est étranger au statut de l’Église et parce qu’il viole le principe de l’autonomie ecclésiastique. Insatisfaits de ces résolutions, les syndicalistes se sont adressé à la CEDH accusant une violation de l’article 11 de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme sur la liberté d’association. Bien que dans la première étape les prêtres syndicalistes ont prévalu, la décision finale de la Grand Chambre de la CEDH a été favorable à l’État roumain et par défaut à l’Eglise orthodoxe roumaine. Par sa décision (Affaire Sindicatul "Păstorul cel bun" c. Roumanie), la CEDH a confirmé que les spécificités professionnelles de la prêtrise sont incompatibles avec l’action syndicale parce que le sacerdoce est une mission librement assumé que l’Eglise confie à ceux qui ont répondu à son appel.

A. Les principales lois qui garantissent la liberté religieuse en Roumanie :

1. Constitution de la Roumanie (du 21 novembre 1991, modifiée en 2003), art. 29.
2. Loi 489/2006 sur la liberté religieuse et le régime général des cultes, art. 1 et 2.
3. Ordonnance 137/31, août 2000 (avec modifications ultérieures) sur la prévention et la répression de toutes les formes de discrimination (avec modifications ultérieures) sur la prévention et la répression de toutes les formes de discrimination.

B. Les dispositions légales relatives au travail et à la religion :

Code du Travail (loi 53/24 janvier 2003 avec les modifications ultérieures)
Article 5
(1) Au sein de relations de travail, le principe de l’égalité de traitement pour tous les employés et les employeurs est garanti.
(2) Toute discrimination directe ou indirecte contre un employé basée sur le genre, l’orientation sexuelle, les caractéristiques génétiques, l’âge, la nationalité, la race, la couleur, la religion, l’opinion politique, l’origine sociale, le handicap, la situation ou la responsabilité familiale, l’appartenance ou l’activité syndicale, est interdite.

Article 59
Est interdit le licenciement des employés :
a) basé sur le genre, l’orientation sexuelle, les caractéristiques génétiques, l’âge, la nationalité, la race, la couleur, la religion, l’opinion politique, l’origine sociale, le handicap, la situation ou la responsabilité familiale, l’appartenance ou l’activité syndicale.

Article 139
(1) Jours fériés :
- le 1 et 2 janvier – Nouvel An
- le 24 janvier – Journée de l’Union des Principautés Roumaines
- premier et deuxième jour de Pâques
- le 1er mai – Journée internationale du Travail
- le 1er juin – Journée internationale des enfants
- premier et deuxième jour de la Pentecôte
- l’Assomption de Marie
- le 30 novembre – Saint-André le Premier-appelé, protecteur de la Roumanie
- le 1er décembre – Journée nationale de Roumanie
- premier et deuxième jour de Noël
(2) deux jours pour chacune de trois fêtes religieuses annuelles, déclarées comme telles par les cultes religieux reconnus, autres que les fêtes chrétiennes, pour les personnes appartenant à ces cultes.

Article 159
(3) Pour l’établissement et le versement du salaire, il est interdit toute discrimination basée sur le genre, l’orientation sexuelle, les caractéristiques génétiques, l’âge, la nationalité, la race, la couleur, la religion, l’opinion politique, l’origine sociale, le handicap, la situation ou la responsabilité familiale, l’appartenance ou l’activité syndicale.

C. Les ministres des cultes et le droit du travail :

Loi 489/2006 sur la liberté religieuse et le régime général des cultes, art. 23 à 26.

Pour plus d’information sur les relations de travail du clergé voir TĂVALĂ Emanuel, "Law and religion in the workplace : Romanian Report", in RODRÍGUEZ BLANCO Miguel (ed.), Law and religion in the workplace, Proceedings of the XXVIIth annual conference of the European Consortium for Church and State Research, Alcalá de Henares, 12-15 November 2015, Granada, Comares, December 2016, p. 327-336.

22 février 2017